1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky+ recording restrictions etc (newbie)

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Brendon, May 4, 2004.

1. Brendon

Brendon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    All,

After reading various faqs and guides regarding Sky+, I am still left with questions.

BTW I am a newbie with respect to Sky, Sky+ etc, have never subscribed but am on the verge of doing so (my old VHS recording is on its way out, and regular terrestrial TV is not servicing my sci fi/fantasy fix!)

I am aware that various programmes etc can be set to record using the Sky+ EPG. All well and groovy. But the faqs etc out there don't answer the following:

Are there any recording/playback restrictions regarding certain shows/films/channels ? Ie Will the Sky+ box block the recording of shows/films/programmes if Sky flag them as being "premium" or "unrecordable" ?

How reliable is the "record me an entire series" function ? Can it be relied upon to record an entire season of 24 or Tru Calling say, without constant supervision from myself ?

Will any material transmitted in DD5.1 record and playback from the hard disc as 5.1, or does it perform some kind of 2.0 downmix ?

Does the Sky+ box add any analogue copy protection on replaying material from the hard drive ? Ie should I want to archive a show to either VHS or recordable DVD, does it add in macrovision or any other analogue copy protection ?

Any other good/bad experiences of the platform out there ? Any potential pitfalls to avoid (independant vs Sky's own installers etc) ? (Aside from doing my own integration of the box into my AV system).

Sorry for the barrage of questions. Any help or cries of anguish gratefully received!

Cheers,

Bren

2. Techno

Techno
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Forst off brendo, Sky+ is the dogs.