1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky + Recording Quailty

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Rookies, Jan 21, 2003.

  1. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,894
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +344
    Ok, I am wondering if the programs or what ever that get recorded on Sky plus when played back is the same Quailty we get when watching live SKY? or is reduced a bit?
     
  2. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    exactly the same quality, DD5.1 on sky movies

    it records the data stream so u can even get up subtitles etc
     
  3. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh and it doesn't record the red dot

    fantastic
     
  4. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    It's exactly the same as if viewed live.

    The Sky+ box simply stores the same digital signal without compressing it at all.

    It's the dog's....best thing I've bought in ages and that includes my plasma.

    Cheers, CC
     
  5. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sky+ is marvelous

    fantastic

    but, it is annoying on certain points because you just think if only you could do ...

    and why doesn't ....


    just minor tweaks that you would think would be easy to implement

    dual record is out soon

    I just wish they would put on some editing features on the HD
     
  6. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Yeah dual record would come in handy but I doubt they will ever incorporate any editing facilities, and even if they do I guess they would be pretty basic as they would want to keep the system easy to use.

    For my needs it's just dandy.

    Cheers, Lee
     
  7. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,894
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +344
    I think I wait for the duel record then. But I bet it be more money for the box??

    Any ideas when it out and have SKy + said they doing this or is it coming from other people
     
  8. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the dual record will be available via a software update available around March. Sky told me Late Feb!

    Pace are meant to be releasing a new sky+ box with this softwarfe update already onboard. However, it is meant to be only a cosmetic upgrade, cheaper for pace to produce.
     
  9. Rookies

    Rookies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,894
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +344
    So are you saying if I got sky + now and all use sky + owners will be able to get out box software updated to get the duel record? Does it not put the subscription price up?
     
  10. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah no extra cost

    sky+ very often update the software

    the last software update was just before xmas it installed instant rewind

    a great feature

    Sky+ are doing a fantastic loyalty offer at the minute

    mine was

    199 for sky+
    60 installation + relocation of current box to bedroom
    15 extra per month

    a normal second box costs you 125ish and 12 extra per month

    without the loyalty offer it is, I believe

    299 box, 70 installation, 10 extra p/m sky+ 12 extra p/m second box


    I do not see the point in waiting for the new box as update will only be cosmetic, smaller box.


    There are rumours that a 80GB HD will be available on new box, currently 40GB (20hrs ish recording time)

    but this update will certainly be available for current owners too


    you can update to 120Gb HD quite easily, I am told, but this invalidates your warantee so I will wait till mine is nearly up

    hope this helps

    get sky+ it really is fantastic, no more VHS
     
  11. swarrans

    swarrans
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whilst I'm not questioning the original posts, but I am rather surprised that the quality of Sky + recording is EXACTLY the same as the original recording....
    I only say that because Tivo uses MPEG which is a compressed format and does impact the recording quality AND it seems to take up about the same space on the hard drive as the Sky + system (approx 10 hours for 40GB).
    The Tivo recordings look very good on "normal" TVs, but I understand can look a bit rough if you've got a huge plasma!

    Simon
     
  12. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    SKY+ records the bitstream data onto the hard drive before it get's to the mpegII decoder so it does not matter if you watch a program "live" or at a recording of that program later.
    The output of the SKY+ has only passed through the mpegII decoder once so there is no difference between the final quality.

    TIVO takes the mpegII decoded output of a digital source and then re-encodes it using mpegII to record onto it's hard drive, it then has to decode it on playback. It's these multipule operations that decrease the overall picture quality, repeated encoding and decoding using mpegII of any material always results in a lowering of picture quality.
    As you say the Best setting on TIVO is perfectly acceptable for recording good quality pictures but it can not match the SKY+ method and SKY+ does not record interactive elements (red blob) and on playback you can still choose the subtitles and aspect ratios you want just like a live recording.
     

Share This Page

Loading...