1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sky+ question for my wife

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by phil5743, Oct 1, 2003.

  1. phil5743

    phil5743
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ongar, Essex
    Ratings:
    +27
    My wife is concerned about any extra cables with sky+ ! Does it just connect in the same way as the existing digibox (to dish outside) Thanks
     
  2. lmccauley

    lmccauley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    3,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +212
    There are two cables running from the dish to the Sky+ box instead of 1.

    Cheers,
    Liam
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Some installers will use a shotgun cable (Two cables in a single sheath) which would probably be suitable for the missus but for longer runs the general concensus is that two single cables offer better performace.
     
  4. phil5743

    phil5743
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ongar, Essex
    Ratings:
    +27
    Do you think I can safely assume that they will run the cable through the wall near/adjacent to the existing one (she is worried as we have just decorated!)
     
  5. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,851
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    Had ours installed Saturday, thats exactly what they did. Drilled a new hole right next to the existing one. My missus thinks its great (but still doesn't understand how it works ;))
     
  6. lmccauley

    lmccauley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    3,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +212
    That's what they did with mine.

    It's a great device. So simple to use. If you're browsing the EPG and you see a program you want recording, then you just highlight it and press the (R) button. Want to record each episode? Press the green, Series-link button. Easy peasy!

    Cheers,
    Liam
     
  7. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,851
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    Couldn't agree more Liam. Sat doen on Sunday evening and picked all the programs I wanted to see for the week. Took 10 minutes and I've actually seen programs this week I missed last week coz I forgot they were on. I never used the video but this I love :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...