Answered Sky Q - to two buildings (part of same home)

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by chrisuk01, Jan 1, 2017.

  1. chrisuk01

    chrisuk01
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +16
    Hi,

    I currently have 1 x sky dish that provides sky to the main house and the office (man shed in the garden); the shed is approximately 6 meters way from the house.

    I am looking at having Sky Q installed, however not sure whether the setup will work and may be best sticking with what I have. Hence the reason for my post.

    The house is connected with BT Fibre internet (Netgear hawk router) and the shed has a separate internet connection provided by Sky.

    So my question, Is it possible to have Sky Q and if so, how would I go about it?

    Thanks
     
  2. Best Answer:
    Post #4 by kevkbuk, Jan 1, 2017 (1 points)
  3. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    The mini boxes connect to the main box via your LAN, so you'd need to connect the shed to the house.

    Why does it have its own internet connection?
     
  4. chrisuk01

    chrisuk01
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +16
    thanks.

    Its work provided and so a line and broadband was installed to the work office.

    So I will need to connect it to my home network to be able to use the mini boxes. I assume the mini boxes stil need a connection to the dish, or does it solely work over the internet..?
     
  5. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    Best Answer
    The Mini works solely via your LAN. The main box is connected to the dish and internet. Ideally you'd hardwire an ethernet cable to the house, but powerline or wifi may be options.
     
  6. chrisuk01

    chrisuk01
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +16
    thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...