Sky Q to 2 TVs

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Stuarty, Feb 23, 2018.

  1. Stuarty

    Stuarty
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Bangor
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I recently have got a SkyQ box and have lost my ability to use a magic eye and coax cable to show the display on 2 tvs.

    I was looking into options and wondering if there was a way of using HDMI to CAT 5 to send the signal to both tvs. Anyone any experience doing this? is it even possible? Any recommendations of equipment?

    One TV will be in the room with the sky Q box so remote control use in this room is not an issue. The other tv would need some way of sending the remote signal back also- is this even possible?

    All advice gratefully received.
     
  2. chopples

    chopples
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +801
    This can be done mate, you would also need a 1 in 2 out hdmi splitter with the recommended spec. For the remote you have a few options.

    You could run a infrared repeater.

    This will depend on distance but you may find the touch Q remote works anyway (it uses bluetooth). You can then just use the bog standard remote in the room with the box.

    Its been a while but I think you can also control the box with the Sky Q app

    cheers
     
  3. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,561
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,190
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2018
  4. Russ_64

    Russ_64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    564
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +288
    Any reason why you did not consider getting one Sky Q Mini? It has many advantages but comes at additional cost.
     
  5. chopples

    chopples
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Wirral
    Ratings:
    +801
    Probably the £99 upfront then £12 a month. If both tvs are seldom used at the same time it’s an unnecessary expense which adds up over time

    Cheers
     
  6. TJT1

    TJT1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,782
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    East Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,127
    Sounds like a fair reason to me.:D £243 for the first year!
     
  7. Stuarty

    Stuarty
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Bangor
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 2nd tv is rarely used so wouldnt warrant the extra month expense. We are happy with freeview and firestick for but have a bit if recabling to do for main tv anyway so thought i would explore options
     

Share This Page

Loading...