Sky Q setup advice - ARC and 4K HDMI Extender?

tek290

Novice Member
Hi all,

I've been browsing this forum for many weeks now and there's lots of useful info from the resident experts and my knowledge around this area is slowly building up so thank you, but time to ask for some advice I think as I'm still a novice!

I've bought a flat and am moving in shortly, an extension was done last year and they've had CAT6 cabling routed to several points, the current owner has some form of AV hub in a storage cupboard in the hallway. There are two RJ45 sockets behind the existing wall mounted TV and looks very tidy (no wires / set top boxes etc), the CAT6 must only be run <10m.

My set up is: 1 x LG OLED TV, Sky Q UHD (and Sky broadband) and a Sonos Beam.

My concern is that the current owner never had Sky and so if I was to have a localised set up, I'd need to run a cable from the front of the house (sky dish will be on the front) all the way through to the extension at the back. Sky box would then need to be mounted behind the TV and it's wires somehow hidden which I imagine would cost me a fair bit to have an electrician come in to hide in skirting and then chase up through the wall etc (I assume they'd locate existing trunking used for CAT6?).

I therefore thought that a remote solution may be neater. Have the Sky box and router located together with an HDBaseT extender and then connect through CAT6 to the TV. This is where my knowledge falls down somewhat, particularly around ARC.

I'm guessing it's not as simple as just buying this - ARC 4K HDBaseT Extender - connecting my Sky box to the transmitter and then HDMI from the receiver to my TV with the Sonos connected directly to the TV via the ARC HDMI port. What I've seen on various diagrams suggests that you need some form of AV receiver as well? If so, this option may well prove too expensive.