Sky Q satellite aerial split?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by skyboy, Mar 6, 2018.


    1. skyboy

      skyboy
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Jan 17, 2011
      Messages:
      6
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Ratings:
      +0
      Hi. I Don't know if this is at all possible but here we go. I am moving to my mother in laws next week. We both have sky Q. I am keeping my subscription seperate to hers but sky cant fit the new dish/lnb for 2 weeks. Is there any way i can split the satellite cable coming in to connect to both boxes while i wait for the install or not?
      Thanks in advance.
       
    2. logiciel

      logiciel
      Moderator

      Joined:
      Feb 2, 2008
      Messages:
      52,973
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +5,718
      Sky are going to allow two accounts in the same house?
       
    3. skyboy

      skyboy
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Jan 17, 2011
      Messages:
      6
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Ratings:
      +0
      Yes. I am having a second phone line and a new dish being fitted to the attic room.
       
    4. logiciel

      logiciel
      Moderator

      Joined:
      Feb 2, 2008
      Messages:
      52,973
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +5,718
      There's a first for everything then!
      You can't split the cables but could use one for each.
       
    5. kevkbuk

      kevkbuk
      Member

      Joined:
      Jan 27, 2011
      Messages:
      5,969
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      133
      Ratings:
      +1,165
      Do the FBC tuners have a single cable mode? How does that work???
       
    6. logiciel

      logiciel
      Moderator

      Joined:
      Feb 2, 2008
      Messages:
      52,973
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +5,718
      Good question.
      Maybe they need both in which case my idea won't work.:rolleyes:
       
    7. kevkbuk

      kevkbuk
      Member

      Joined:
      Jan 27, 2011
      Messages:
      5,969
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      133
      Ratings:
      +1,165
      No, it won't. :D

      One cable provides the full band (high and low) for vertically polarised channels whilst the other provides the full band for horizontally polarised channels.
       
    8. logiciel

      logiciel
      Moderator

      Joined:
      Feb 2, 2008
      Messages:
      52,973
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +5,718
      I've had it for 18 months and didn't know that!
       
    9. TJT1

      TJT1
      Member

      Joined:
      Jul 29, 2011
      Messages:
      4,400
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      East Sussex, UK
      Ratings:
      +1,002
      Pull out one of your cables, see what happens and report back.:D
       
    10. grahamlthompson

      grahamlthompson
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Aug 3, 2006
      Messages:
      23,981
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Redditch
      Ratings:
      +4,087
      As there is no control signals involved, a straight forward splitter with the correct direction power pass on both cables might actually work.
       
    11. skyboy

      skyboy
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Jan 17, 2011
      Messages:
      6
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Ratings:
      +0
      Ok thanks What would you suggest I use?
       
    12. grahamlthompson

      grahamlthompson
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Aug 3, 2006
      Messages:
      23,981
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Redditch
      Ratings:
      +4,087

      You could try a pair of these. Note both boxes will provide power as both are the same 12V so shouldn't be an issue.

      Labgear 2-Way Splitter with Power Pass All Ports

      The only reason you can't split a satellite feed is down to the band and polarisation switching signals. There is none on a Sky-Q box which is why it can feed multiple tuners on just two cables so a single Sky-Q box internally splits the feeds (possibly with internal amplifiers to eliminate the splitting losses.
       
    13. kevkbuk

      kevkbuk
      Member

      Joined:
      Jan 27, 2011
      Messages:
      5,969
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      133
      Ratings:
      +1,165
      How does it select either or H or V for each feed?
       
    14. jont

      jont
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Apr 8, 2002
      Messages:
      4,288
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      near Aylesbury
      Ratings:
      +556
      Am sure the LNB has multiple f-connector output feeds, so from a single dish you can run two sets of twin cable, one to each box ?
       
    15. kevkbuk

      kevkbuk
      Member

      Joined:
      Jan 27, 2011
      Messages:
      5,969
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      133
      Ratings:
      +1,165
      No, the Sky Q LNB has two outputs, the customer can request the six output hybrid LNB that can run standard sat receivers in addition to Q but it is not installed as standard.
       

    Share This Page

    Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice