Question Sky Q 2160p On HDAnywhere Modular 4K Matrix Issues

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by RocketBoom, Jan 23, 2018.

  1. RocketBoom

    RocketBoom
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi All,

    First time poster....

    I have recently bought a house with the following setup:

    75" Sony X94E LED TV in Main Room with 3x Other rooms with 1080p capable LED TV's
    HDAnywhere Modular 4K 4x4 Matrix connecting a feed from the following to the above TV's

    SkyQ Main Box
    SkyQ Additional Box
    Apple TV 4K
    Blu Ray Player

    When trying to play the feed from the SkyQ main box on the Sony TV, The Sky Q doesn't not allow the switch up to UHD/2160p and works at 1080p only. I understand that this could be due to the fact that the matrix only supports upto HDCP 1.4.

    1st Question, is this correct?
    2nd Question, i have read elsewhere but not conclusively that there is a work around by using a 'dongle' that converts the HDCP 2.2 signal to HDCP1.4 and that this is suggested by HDAnywhere themselves. Is this correct?
    3rd Question, Is there any drawback on going down this route? e.g. compatibility with the TV, loss of picture quality/functionality etc.

    Any help much appreciated!

    RocketBoom
     
  2. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,432
    Sky Q Man Box - ideally you would be setting it’s HDMI Output to 2160p50, 10-Bit with DD+ audio which also requires HDCP 2.2.

    Matrix - even where your Matrix supports the above you can run into issues if all of your Zones do not support the signal the Source is Outputting.

    Main Zone - do you have an AVR between the Matrix and the TV? If yes which AVR?

    Main Zone - can you connect an HDMI cable direct to the TV/AVR without connecting via the Matrix?

    Secondary Zones - are they TV only Zones (no AVR/Soundbar) and are they UHD or HD TV’s?

    Joe
     
  3. RocketBoom

    RocketBoom
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Joe,

    There is a Yamaha AVR in the setup, not sure which one it is, i will check.
    I cannot connect a direct cable, the plant room containing the AV kit is at the opposite side of the house 15m away.

    So the main zone containing the UHD capable TV will solely be able to connect to the Sky Q Main box. The 3 secondary zones will connect at 1080p to the additional/mini Sky Q box. All zones connect via the Yamaha AVR and all are HD TV's.

    RocketBoom
     
  4. RocketBoom

    RocketBoom
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Actually i'm not sure exactly how the AVR is set up, i will heck and confirm later.
     
  5. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,432
    AVR - once you know how it is connected/configured you can look at options to allow you to ‘share’ the Sky Q Box via the AVR/Matrix without limiting the Main Zone.

    Joe
     
  6. RocketBoom

    RocketBoom
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Joe,

    Ive now checked and I have an update:

    The feed from the Sky Q to the TV goes as follows:

    Sky Q 2TB -> via HDMI
    HDAnywhere Modular 4K 4x4 -> via HDMI
    Yamaha RX-A2040 -> via HDMI
    HDAnywhere HDBaseT Pro Transmitter -> via HDBaseT over Cat 6 UTP
    HDAnywhere HDBaseT Pro Receiver -> via HDMI
    Sony X94E TV

    HDAnywhere sent me a box that sits between the Sky Q and the matrix which converts the HDCP 2.2 feed to HDCP 1.4.

    When I use the box with the above setup Sky Q does not work at 2160p 8 or 10bit.

    However when I bypass the matrix and AVR with the same box I can get 2160p but only at 8bit.

    This poses the following questions:

    Which component in the above list is stopping Sky Q from working at 2160p 8bit?
    Is it possible to get get 2160p 10bit from Sky Q to work over that Cat 6 link?
    What components are needed/recommended to do that, removing the AVR and matrix from the equation?

    Any help much appreciated Joe!

    Rocket
     
  7. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,432
    Configuration - taking the Sky Q via the Matrix potentially limits you to the capabilities of the least capable Sink (Display) connected to the Matrix.

    Sky Q > HDBT Extender > UHD TV - the HDBT Extender is likely limited to 8-Bit with UHD Source signals.

    HDBT - there are new ‘2nd Generation’ HDBT Chips which offer ‘visually lossless’ compressed support for higher bandwidth UHD signals, currently quite rare and very expensive.

    Sky Q > AVR > UHD TV - assuming Sky Q and the AVR are collocated how long is the cable run from the AVR to the UHD TV and would it be possible to run a new cable between the AVR and the UHD TV?

    Joe
     
  8. RocketBoom

    RocketBoom
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sky Q and AVR are co-located in the plant room.
    The cable run is 15-20m between the AVR and the TV.
    Unfortunately the previous owner did not install conduit so the cable is pretty much fixed and buried behind/under the wall/floor.

    What cost are we looking at for the latest HDBT extenders? Do you have any links/model no.'s?

    Thanks,

    RocketBoom
     
  9. RocketBoom

    RocketBoom
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
  10. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,432
    You did notice the $999 price tag! Pretty much the same as one or two other current options.

    I'm off to ISE in Amsterdam on Tues/Wed next week and will be looking at who has what and what is realistically affordable for the Residential market - if you can hold fire I'll update you if we find anything we will be suppying.

    Joe
     
  11. RocketBoom

    RocketBoom
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah, was hoping other options would be cheaper, or get it personally from the states while I'm over there. Absolutely I can wait. 8 bit is looking good so far... Definitely let me know of any future options!

    Side question, How noticeable is the difference between 8 and 10 bit colour at 2160p at a 75 inch screen size?

    RocketBoom
     
  12. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,432
    'How noticeable is the difference between 8 and 10 bit colour at 2160p at a 75 inch screen size?' - depends on how far away you are viewing from :)

    If you use Sky Q as an example any areas where you have a large area of a single colour tend to suffer banding at 8-Bit which is much less prominent at 10-Bit.

    'Yeah, was hoping other options would be cheaper' - not many available as yet and anyone wanting to stick the 'Gen 2' HDBT chips in a product plus be allowed to stick the HDBT Logo on the product are in for some very expensive licensing and proving costs.

    Joe
     
  13. RocketBoom

    RocketBoom
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Joe,

    Any update from ISE on new extender tech?

    Regards,

    RocketBoom
     
  14. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,432
    Quite a few of the big brands have the Gen 2.0 Valens option of 2160p with the Lattice 'visually lossless' processing - all seemed to be at a similar price point to what you have seen previously.

    One or two folk were showing 'non-compressed' solutions - though they tended to be modular Boards for some of the big multi-zone chassis.

    Have you tried a different HDCP 'converter' - we supply a lot of the HDfury Linker, Integral and Vertex.

    Joe
     
  15. RocketBoom

    RocketBoom
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Joe,

    Not yet, which one of these do you recommend?

    RocketBoom
     
  16. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,432
    HDfury Vertex - will allow two Sources (selectable) full passthrough direct to you Main TV plus a down converted Output to a Matrix.

    HDfury Linker - two Sources (selectable) down converted to 1080p (single Output).

    For iOS/Android control and switching you require the GoBlue adapter.

    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice