Sky Plus using a optical to coaxial converter problem

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Krill, Sep 15, 2005.

  1. Krill

    Krill
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,335
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Market Harborough
    Ratings:
    +175
    Finally got my Denon DHT500 system back from Peter Tyson and wanted to connect my Sky + up to it by using a coaxial converter. My optical in on the Denon is already being used by my Xbox so I purchased http://www.keene.co.uk/cgi-bin/codesearch.pl?KACO in the hope that I could run my optical lead from Sky+ into the converter and then have a coaxial cable going from the converter to the Denon 500 Video 1 in.

    Unfortunately when I connect it up I get no sound from my speakers.

    I have tried plugging the Optical cable from Sky+ straight into the Denon and that works fine on Video 2. It just seems to be when I run the cables through the converter I get no sound on Video 1.

    Anyone got any ideas as I have only just got my Denon 500 back after 6 weeks without it and I am beginning to think I am jinxed. Is there some settings I need to change to make it work? Or is it just a case of plugging it all together like so and it working?

    Sky+ -----Optical Cable------optical to coaxial converter--------coaxial cable--------Denon 500 Coaxial in?



    Any help is greatly appreciated.
     
  2. ijd

    ijd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +129
  3. karlak

    karlak
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,048
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +1,741
    I have one of these splitters - It splits from my Sony Amp to an XBOX and SKY+ .


    The problem is that it does'nt work. I have had a quick look and I think that the problem is that the 'laser' from the optical out on SKY+ always appears to be on ( DO NOT LOOK STRAIGHT AT IT ) . This means that there is conflict when the XBOX is switched on, giving corrupt sound.

    Anyone else find this as well ?

    EDIT: just found this previous thread

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=181123&highlight=optical+splitter
     
  4. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    I have used that same box Krill...and had no problems, so I would imagine it's either a faulty unit or has a power supply problem.
    Edit: just noticed that one you linked to is coax to optical.....not optical to coax
     
  5. ijd

    ijd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +129
    when using x box turn sky off and vice versa or you are feeding two signals together, the amp cant decode and you get no sound.
    i just turn my sky to standby and i works ok
     
  6. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Yes, I think most Sky boxes work like this - "standby" doesn't switch off all the circuits, only some of them. By the way, it's not a laser, just a red LED, so it won't damage your eyesight :)
     
  7. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +347
    The problem is that it does'nt work. I have had a quick look and I think that the problem is that the 'laser' from the optical out on SKY+ always appears to be on ( DO NOT LOOK STRAIGHT AT IT ) . This means that there is conflict when the XBOX is switched on, giving corrupt sound.

    they are always on when the device is on, the ps2 and my dvd players are the same, even if no leads connected the lasers still on
     
  8. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Yes, I was agreeing with the other poster - it doesn't work, because the LED (IT'S NOT A LASER !) is always on, even when the Sky box is on standby - this is perfectly normal, and there's nothing you can do about it, except to buy an optical "switch" and these are not easy to find.
     
  9. karlak

    karlak
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,048
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +1,741
  10. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Why ? It's not dangerous to look at an LED :rolleyes:
     
  11. karlak

    karlak
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,048
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +1,741
    It is if it is high intensity and concentrated. Try it tonight and let us know tomorrow - If you can see your keyboard that is :D
     
  12. Krill

    Krill
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,335
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Market Harborough
    Ratings:
    +175
    I took it back and replaced it as I suspected it was the converter. New one I swapped it for works fine so I am now back to having digital sound on my Sky+ :thumbsup:

    Thanks for all those that replied and tried to help :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...