Sky Plus Recording (Missed Starts)

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Vinesh, Jun 20, 2004.

  1. Vinesh

    Vinesh
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    I missed the start of one of the programs today, but when I played it back it started playing from the begining.

    How does the Sky recording work?
    use some sort of cache/memory area?
     
  2. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,986
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +132
    It has an instant rewind facility. All programmes (upto 30 minutes) are recorded as you watch and constantly updated. So as long as you're not more than 30 minutes late you can rewind and watch the prog from the beginning.
     
  3. muppetmick

    muppetmick
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    over the rainbow-way up high!
    Ratings:
    +0
    I manually set my sky+ recorder to start 2 mins before/after all recordings and I STILL miss part of the programmes occasionally :mad:

    Mick.
     
  4. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    yes but you have to be watching. so if you watch something and 25mins into the program decide you like it and want a copy of it, you can press record and it will record up to the start of it as phillip said
     
  5. andrewmellor

    andrewmellor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +18
    Hi Muppetmick,
    The wife had occasional 'soap start loss' due to late broadcasting so we've now altered the start to 5mins early (I think) and this seems to have cleared it up.
    It's obviously to do with the broadcasting times and not a sky+ prob.
    I suppose 2mins is cutting it quite close and it's not like it's a major hassle with the x30 advance:)

    Andrew
     
  6. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    we should get onto sky's back about incorporating some feature where you can cut the ends off a program - would make life very much easier. I cant believe it would be that hard either...
     
  7. Vinesh

    Vinesh
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +31
    Thanks for the replies.
     

Share This Page

Loading...