1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sky plus picture quality

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by deepblue2uk, Feb 29, 2004.

1. deepblue2uk

deepblue2uk

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    As i am new to the plasma scene i have only seen a few examples of PQ on plasmas. Sky seems to be a good picture however does sky plus give a better picture. If so i will upgrade at the same time as purchasing a Pioneer PDP434.

Thanks for any advice

2. Party Animal

Party Animal

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    Sky +has the same pic quality as the non sky+ as far as I can see

some of the sky channels are really awful... but most of the premium channels are good

I have both types of Sky boxes and can see no difference in quality
    thats not to say that the + box is a great bit of kit. and would never get the old type after see-ing Sky+ in action

3. jmack

jmack

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    should point out that the v2 sky+ boxes do have problem with soft focus and the picture can look a little blurred.

v1 boxes and sky digital are fine and on the right channel can look very good, also on the wrong channel can look poor

4. MR2Harvey

MR2Harvey

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Well I've had my SKY+ V2 box for a couple of months now have certainly don't experience 'soft focus' must have been a bad batch or I'm just lucky!

5. troymcclure

troymcclure

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd say you're either lucky or not noticed it yet. I hadn't until I read about it on the Digital Spy Forum.

It's most noticeable on text like football league tables. Take a look at QVC, channel 630. O.K. so you won't watch this channel but you can see straight away if you have the focus problem. On mine, some text is crystal clear and some is blurred.