1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sky plus picture quality

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by deepblue2uk, Feb 29, 2004.

  1. deepblue2uk

    deepblue2uk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As i am new to the plasma scene i have only seen a few examples of PQ on plasmas. Sky seems to be a good picture however does sky plus give a better picture. If so i will upgrade at the same time as purchasing a Pioneer PDP434.

    Thanks for any advice
     
  2. Party Animal

    Party Animal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Sky +has the same pic quality as the non sky+ as far as I can see

    some of the sky channels are really awful... but most of the premium channels are good

    I have both types of Sky boxes and can see no difference in quality
    thats not to say that the + box is a great bit of kit. and would never get the old type after see-ing Sky+ in action
     
  3. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    should point out that the v2 sky+ boxes do have problem with soft focus and the picture can look a little blurred.

    v1 boxes and sky digital are fine and on the right channel can look very good, also on the wrong channel can look poor
     
  4. MR2Harvey

    MR2Harvey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Well I've had my SKY+ V2 box for a couple of months now have certainly don't experience 'soft focus' must have been a bad batch or I'm just lucky!
     
  5. troymcclure

    troymcclure
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd say you're either lucky or not noticed it yet. I hadn't until I read about it on the Digital Spy Forum.

    It's most noticeable on text like football league tables. Take a look at QVC, channel 630. O.K. so you won't watch this channel but you can see straight away if you have the focus problem. On mine, some text is crystal clear and some is blurred.

    Apparently it's a Pace problem and they've admitted it. Sky have said it will be addressed in a future download but how can it be if it's hardware?

    troy
     
  6. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    you may have not noticed it , but its there:( :( there is a lack of picture detail too, very easy to spot on football games there is no face detail on players from a distanst, but on sky digital and sky+ v1 boxes there its fine.

    pace have confirmed there is a problem, but its up to sky to implement any software upgrade
     
  7. Galaxy

    Galaxy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex.........UK
    Ratings:
    +11
    Hmmm interesting........as I had sky+ installed before I had bought my plasma this worried me, as I have not seen any problems with "soft" focus and blurred images from Sky+ V2 box, so I got out my old original box (the installer left me cable and plugs so I could connect it as a second box....bloody friendly bloke!) rigged it up in place of the newer V2 box, and hey!!!

    Its was worse than the new box! :clap:

    My V2 box is definatley a better picture, slightyly sharper and just looking more detailed, and yes I checked all the settings and had a good play with it.

    I know I was very suprised by the PQ of sky when I first installed my Plasma after hearing all the tales of woe about sky PQ, but I was more than happy and even more so now!

    Maybe there wasnt a bad batch, but just a good batch? :D

    Best regards David
     
  8. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. Galaxy

    Galaxy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    540
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex.........UK
    Ratings:
    +11
    Interesting thread in the digital spy forum, and although they say sky admit to a fault, many people there find the picture quality the same as the original box a some better!

    Certainly looking at those screenshots my V2 box in no way exhibits any faults of that kind, I have been in the industry for over thirty years and am confident that I can see problems of that nature.

    As I said before, I had a Mitsubishi 37" CRT before my present 42" Plasma and was bowled over by the PQ from Sky+ on that CRT, and apprehensive of changing to the Plasma after reading these forums, but am very happy viewing Sky+ "premium" channels, as to QVC.lets face it....it aint never going to receive a golden globe for technical merit!!!!


    Best regards David
     
  10. gmt steve

    gmt steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +6
    Sounds like a similar problem the Pace Twin HDD recorder had/has. Some people say there was a soft picture problem on areas of the screen, others could see no problem. Pace did a OTA firmware update to fix the problem, in fact until I got rid of mine they had done four OTA updates. God knows how many they've done by now. I wonder if they've got it to work yet?
     

Share This Page

Loading...