Sky + playback problems

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by steviewilson, Nov 1, 2005.

  1. steviewilson

    steviewilson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all

    Playing back some recently recorded programs on my Sky+ box have shown slight pauses, pixelling, annoying glitches. I have less than 20% of the space left and its only just started doing this over the last day or two. Is my HD at fault?
    And naturally, my extended warranty has just expired. Its as if they somehow know isnt it?

    Stevie
    Glasgow
     
  2. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +600
    lol, yes, its amazing how necessary technology always seems to bug out once its warranty expires (washing machines/dishwashers being prime examples)....oh, i know sky isnt necessary, but the box is if you want sky.......

    it may just be your signal has been a bit weak, check the system settings, signal test, see if its a little lower than usual......if not then it could be the HDD or something else in the box......best to record a whole bunch of stuff and see if all are affected or not...

    the problem with HDD is the whole disk doesnt fail normally, just some bad sectors appear.....its not so bad if you can control where the machine writes on the disc, like you can with some computer programs, but a sky box probably writes randomly as its always writing when you allow live rewind/live pause......

    hope its just the signal for your sake, if not then looks like you forking out for a new box, when you phone them keep badgering untill you get it for £65 i think is the new price, agree to a guaranteed 12 months contract extension too if u are sure u will have sky for that long, should ensure getting the box cheaper that way......or just make do with the box quality for now and get a HD box when they released in 2006...
     
  3. steviewilson

    steviewilson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have multi room and the bedroom box is perfect so cant be the dish or lnb at fault. Whats the HD box in 2006 you described?

    Stevie
     
  4. steviewilson

    steviewilson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh your meaning High Definition eh?

    Stevie
     

Share This Page

Loading...