1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky Picture is Pants!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Dirk_Diggler, Sep 16, 2005.

  1. Dirk_Diggler

    Dirk_Diggler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Thomson Sky box (freebie when i signed up with Sky) and cannot get a decent picture out my projector from it. I have a scart to VGA adaptor but the sky picture coming from the projector just jumps about all over the place and then loses the signal. (I have a Themescene H30A) I'm assuming it's a week signal output from the sky box but am not 100% Sure. I tried a 2m VGA cable (instead of my 10m) cable and the signal was less jumpy but still jumping :confused: . Is it more than likely that it is beacause it is a cheap Sky box? It's a pity cause the only picture i get just now is composite and it's rubbish. Are there any cheapo Sky boxes out there that have component or S-Video output?
     
  2. Dirk_Diggler

    Dirk_Diggler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone????? Is there such a thing as a scart to 3 lead RGB cable? I could connect the three RGB leads to my Component cable if this was the case.
     
  3. gingercat

    gingercat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lancashire, UK
    Ratings:
    +26
    You might want to wait longer that 45mins before you start complaining that nobody has replied :nono:

    Lots of people will have read your thread but not have an answer (like me). I believe that the Sky picture is quite bad to start with - my brother always comments that my Freeview picture is much better than his Sky one.

    Not sure if you're having a box problem or what I'm afraid. Do you know anyone that could give you a quick lend of their box to test your cable/projector combination with another box?
     
  4. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626
    Does your projector accept RGBs?

    If yes you need a scart to 4 phono cable wired for Red, Green, Blue and Sync, or Scart to VGA wired the same.

    If no you need to get a JS Scart-Component converter.

    You are not seding it the correct sync signal by the sounds of things, what adapter are you using exactly?
     
  5. braiden

    braiden
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +47
    I have the Sky Thompson box, and IMHO the picture really isn't that bad none of the problems you mentioned and in fact the picture from channel 5 is really quite good especially with programs like CSI and House ect...

    In case you're wondering It's connected to an infocus 4805 via a composite video cable, I dare say that if I were able to conect it through component it would be even better.

    You may have a fualty box, had to have mine swapped out three times after they installed the first one. Give sky a call and see if they can send out an engineer.
     
  6. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +626
    He is not getting the picture to sync.

    When you say the picture is crap, is what you really mean is you can't get a picture?
     
  7. Dirk_Diggler

    Dirk_Diggler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get a picture which is broken up ie some horizontal sections of the picture are offset to the left and jerky and visa versa. :confused:
     
  8. Dirk_Diggler

    Dirk_Diggler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It accepts Scart RGB (DVI-I via supplied scart to VGA & VGA to DVI-I adaptor). My DVD Player works fine through the same set-up. The scart output signal is spot on through set-up whereas the Sky box isn't. :confused:
     
  9. BruceH

    BruceH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    260
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Weston-super-Mare
    Ratings:
    +9
    My Sky box looks pretty good on my Screenplay 5700, connected by s-video.

    From my limited knowledge I agree that you may be confusing RGB with component. But I'm not entirely sure myself.
     
  10. MikeD

    MikeD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Messages:
    265
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Paignton, Devon, UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've got the earlier H30, all of the sources are connected into a switch box with the output connected to the projector using the SCART to VGA adaptor supplied with the projector.

    I use a 10m VGA cable with gold connectors which if I remember cost around £40 from "Lindy".

    The Sky box is a fairly old Panasonic but the picture is pretty good and I've never had any probs with it.
     
  11. simch

    simch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You may want to experiment with your sky box settings via the picture settings menu. i messed with mine as I could not get it to run on my new infocus 5700, and after a bit fo trial and error it fired up fine. I changed scart setting to RGB (from PAL) and I think turned the scart either from off to on or vice versa I cannot recall).

    Have a mess about and see if it improves.
     

Share This Page

Loading...