1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky picture break-up/poor sound

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Phil.LFC, Nov 29, 2003.

  1. Phil.LFC

    Phil.LFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    729
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +56
    Have had Sky for over a year. Had a few problems with picture breaking up. Engineers (original fitters) came out, checked everything, even replaced LNB. Said it would be fine.
    Since then I occasionally get picture break up, especially on channels like E4, Home & Leisure... It seems worse during adverts.
    This knocks the dubbing out which is OK when watching live as turning box off, then on ,puts it right, but if I've taped it I have to watch it with voices out of sync.
    :mad:
    I've also noticed that the sound from my speakers has a very prominent background "squeak". It is not generally annoying but if you get close to the speakers you can hear it clearly. It is not heard on terrestrial broadcasts, DVD.etc...
    I know I should get the engineers back out but to be honest they didn't really seem to know what they were on about and kept trying to fob me off with poor excuses.
    I've now ordered Sky+ so I think I'll wait to see what the sound & picture are like after it's fitted.
    Has anyone else had similar problems?:confused:
     
  2. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    Sounds like a cable/signal problem of some kind. Maybe a dodgy box but you shouldn't be getting these problems. Any trees or buildings in line of your dish?

    See how you go with Sky +. You will get a new LNB, STB and at least one new cable, even if he doesn't replace the cable altogether with a shotgun type. If he leaves the old cable, you will be able to compare the signal strengths of old versus new on the box.

    Good luck, Sky+ is brilliant by the way.
     
  3. davej

    davej
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sunderland
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe the "squeak" is standard for all sky boxes, its down to how the sound is transmitted disagreeing with the phase discrimination used for surround sound systems. Or something like that anyway, its described in another thread somewhere in this forum.
     
  4. Phil.LFC

    Phil.LFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    729
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +56
    Thanks for the info.
    I don't have any trees or building in the way so I'll make sure they install it properly this time!
    If it is installed correctly then should you not have any picture problems whatsoever?
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Phil who are you using to install Sky+??? If a local company (not muppets) you could always go for a slightly larger dish as the mini dish is the smallest dish possible an 80cm circular dish could make a big difference compared to minidish!
     
  6. Phil.LFC

    Phil.LFC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    729
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +56
    I've ordered it direct via Sky's website so I don't know whether they use their own fitters or contract out.
    Whoever comes to install it I will ask them about the larger dish. If it is the "muppets" that put in my original Sky then I'll tell them in no uncertain words that I want it working properly this time!
    They were a local company, not Sky's own.
    Do Sky have their own installers anyway??
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Yeah sky do it depends on the area if they can they will use their own installers but its luck of the draw.
    If i ever go for sky i will do it myself !
     
  8. alwyn

    alwyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    west country
    Ratings:
    +13
    I had a 40cm dish fitted when I purchased sky+.I found the pq ok but the quality signal was only at 60% level. I contacted sky and asked for a larger dish which was supplied and with a better lnb the quality signal level is now at 95% giving a cristal clear picture.And at no cost to me
     

Share This Page

Loading...