Sky & phoneline

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by gers1978, Sep 5, 2007.

  1. gers1978

    gers1978
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,581
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +173
    Why are Sky so fussy about having your phone line connected?

    I've ordered a new multiroom card for my spare box, and they're insisting I connect it to the phone line, else I'll be charged.

    I said I'd do it if need be, but was there any chance I could not bother just for that box since it'll be a hassle to run a cable, and I already have my HD box and other multiroom box connected to the phone line.

    But they said it must be done.

    Just wondered why they're so bothered about it.
     
  2. norvell

    norvell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,756
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
    Ratings:
    +129
    They insist you have it connected via a phone line to prove you have it in the same house. Else you could install it at a relative's house who dont subscribe to Sky and they would get your subscription package for the £10 cost on the extra multiroom card.
     
  3. Jimmo 32

    Jimmo 32
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +24
    And they are keen on the phone line,with multiroom they will send you a letter to reinstate the phone line,or you will be charged 2 sets of subs.The box needs to make call backs every so often to prove you have the box at the same address,as norvell explained.
     
  4. ian-d

    ian-d
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,435
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +164
    Nothing wrong with Sky's request for multiroom, its there way of checking you are using correctly for the subsidised price as highlighted above.
     

Share This Page

Loading...