1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SKY or CABLE????

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by (GTV)Chris, May 16, 2003.

  1. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ok, can of worms time.......

    My new property will have the option of Cable or Sky..
    My trouble is which one to go for.
    I have been used to SKy for the past 6 years - Will changing to cable drive me nuts or will it be a refreshing change.

    The pro's and con's.

    Can you record one cable channel whilst watching another?

    The packages on Cable don't seem to be as good as SKy's in the same price range (Phone line included)

    Which interface is better.


    Cheers

    Chris
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Sky sell there channels to cable companies and for TV only cable is more expensive EPG different but no choice of box! No Sky+ type option for the forseeable. But a full cable package of modem TV and Phone should cost less than Sky BT ADSL depends on the services you want Ntl telewest are different and i only have experience of ntl. Which is a franchise and varies a lot across the country.
     
  3. IvorBigun

    IvorBigun
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sky not hacked.
    Cable...................
    Nuf said

    Regards Ivor
     
  4. encaser

    encaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,566
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex
    Ratings:
    +112
    I use Sky for tv and NTL for broadband which works out cheaper.
     
  5. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have gone with Sky+
    And I can get both ADSL and cable for my broadband internet.
    I am undecided as to which to go for.

    Is one better thab the other?
     
  6. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    I had the choice of either ADSL or NTL CM, I went with NTL because the contention issues seemed to me would be more of a problem with BT's system than the CM system.
    Two years later I have not regretted my decision one bit, the reliabilty of the CM is excellent, speeds are constant with no sign of slowdown during "busy" periods on the network and for the past 7 months I've been on the £34.99 1mbit service, bliss:)
    The only shadow on the NTL service is the 1gig cap they have written into their AUP, un-enforced as yet but it's still something the majority of ADSL ISP's do not have.
     
  7. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    Wow 1MB...ya lucky bugga.
    What kind of download speed do you get with that?

    CAn you explain what the 1gig cap is please??

    Cheers
    C
     
  8. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    It levels out around 121k per second download with around 29k per second upload.

    NTL's APU states (more or less) that a broadband customer can not download more the 1gig of data per 24 hours over a consecutive three day period, same quota for the 150k,600k and 1mbit CM services. Basically they want to force subscribers on the higher tariffs to use less of their allocated capacity so NTL can resell it to new subscriber without that pesky network upgrading sorta thing :nono:

    Like I said this has been inplace for quite a while now and has not been acted on so either the threat of action has caused some subscribers to use their connection less or it was a typical short sighted remark by a NTL bigwig with no real understanding of the product they sell and the people that pay extra to use it.
     
  9. calibos

    calibos
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    930
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +33
    Thank your lucky stars lads, cause here in Ireland NTL have only 10,000 houses on a 2 way network capable of getting cable broadband. The rest of us are on old cable incompatible with BB. They were going to start upgrading the rest of their network over here and then the dot.com bust, NTL bankruptcy etc etc So it might be a little while before they start investing in our network again!!

    Our main Telco has only now launched ADSL at anywhere near a fair price. €55/m as opposed to €110/m last year. But heres the thing..........4 gig download cap. "Whats he on about you say?? We only get 1 gig"

    Our allowance is 4 gig a month not 1 gig a day!!!!!!
     
  10. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +2
    That is ridiculous.
    If this is the case I will stick to ADSL.
    I often leave my computer running all night gathering software and movies.
    It is not uncommon for me to download over a gig per night.
    I will have to speak with NTL before I consider signing up.

    Cheers lads

    C
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Chris i would try ntl as 600k is fast!!!! and less troublesome than ADSL no filters with phone lines etc! the 1gig cap is not enforced and most BB user use a similar thing, I would go with ntl at 600k and if they bring the cap in then switch to ADSL.
     
  12. JamesTapp

    JamesTapp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think BT already have the 1Gig limit, the uproar was the statement made by NTL that they offered "unlimited" internet access.
     
  13. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    BT have two ADSL domestic products.

    BT Openworld ADSL is uncapped.
    BT Broadband is a cheaper capped (1gig) service.

    The vast majority of third party ISP's offer uncapped ADSL services, those that don't tend to be slightly cheaper thus enforcing the idea that a capped service is of lower value to most of the BB users but better for "Light" users.
    Nildram offer/trialing a 1mbit domestic ADSL service, they have a cap for that but at 150gig per month, that would be acceptable since it balances the needs of a domestic user and network managment. NTL seem to have ignored the basic idea that 1mbit users are paying to download more data than their 150k,600k fellow users.
     

Share This Page

Loading...