1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky on HTPC

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Peter J Roberts, Apr 28, 2003.

  1. Peter J Roberts

    Peter J Roberts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Near Abington
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are there any cards that will allow me to use my PC as a sky digital box

    Ideally I'd like all the funtions of sky plus, But If I could just watch/record sky on the PC that would be great
    At the moment I have two sky boxes on one subs package but would like to replace both boxes with HTPC's and move one of the boxes to a sons bedroom (getting a third card).

    What about the Hercules card ? any News
     
  2. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,393
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,512
    Well you could get a Packard Bell TV100 capture card from Pcworld , that will allow you to watch Sky on the HTPC and it also comes with software to allow you to record to your hard disk although something more tailored to that e.g. Showshifter might be better. What I'm not sure about is whether a HTPC can change the channel on the Sky box, if I can't then I don't see what use it is really, anyone know if it's possible to do that i.e. set your HTPC up to record a programme and it will automatically change Sky to the correct channel?

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  3. Peter J Roberts

    Peter J Roberts
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Near Abington
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks But what im looking for is somthing where the PC is the Ski Box ie you use you viewing card in the pc and can record/watch sat TV without a seperate digibox.
    Now I think the Hercules SMART TV SATELLITE card may do this but Im not 100%

    www.hercules-uk.com

    "Hercules is proud to announce the release of the latest entry in its Smart TV range of TV cards: Smart TV Satellite. Designed for high-quality digital satellite reception on PC (DVB-S standard), the card features digital MPEG-2 VCR and time shifting functions and is fully Pay-TV compatible."
     
  4. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think what are you asking for is not (yet) possible. There are satellite pc cards that would receive sky signal but you cannot decrypt them.
     
  5. gab2001uk

    gab2001uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    236
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
  6. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +29
    Just going off topic for a sec Branxx have you got your new Mobo if so whats it like,cheers

    richard
     
  7. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    The Hercules card does look interesting, I've just emailed them with regard to Sky compatibility...I'll let you know what they say.
     
  8. zypheruk

    zypheruk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why bother with sky digital rip off, get urself a Happauge Nexus-S DVB card and a 80cm dish and digital lnb align ur dish with Thor Satellite and get about 20 movie channels etc all in English Language for free, u can record to ur hd etc and then burn to dvd etc.
    Thats what I use myself sky is cancelled and with no regets..
    If u need anymore info pm me, but don't waste my time.

    L8rz
     
  9. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    zypheruk

    A couple of questions if I may:-

    Are the film channels shown in widescreen and or DD.
    Do they use an epg for finding whats on?
    Is there any other English language channels on that Satelite?

    Cheers
     
  10. apul

    apul
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +19

Share This Page

Loading...