1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky not true widescreen!?!?!?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Tyler Durden, Aug 20, 2005.

  1. Tyler Durden

    Tyler Durden
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
    Ratings:
    +263
    I have conected up my new Benq 5120 to my Denon 3803 using a component lead. When I play a dvd I get a proper 16:9 screen which fills my projector screen perfectly, however last night watching Kiss The Girls through my Sky box I discovered that I had a slightly narrower picture which left black bars to the left and right of the image. I have heard of 15:9 ratios before but I thought sky was at 16:9.

    Can anyone help? :lease:
     
  2. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,603
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +199
    It may have just been down to the way it broadcast. What channel was the film actually on? was it a sky channel or bbc through sky ect?
     
  3. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    The term "Widescreen" covers a multitude of sins. The standard for widescreen TV is set at 16:9 (or 1.78:1), but there's a variety of aspect-ratio "standards" used in movies varying between 1.33:1 and 2.35:1

    If a movie has an aspect ratio of 1.66:1 or 1.77:1, Sky have two choices. They can either stretch it horizontally and vertically and chop off the top of the picture, or leave it as it is with black bars down the sides. Either way, some people will be disappointed.
     
  4. Tyler Durden

    Tyler Durden
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
    Ratings:
    +263
    It seems that all channels through my sky box are sent in this format, even the menus! Is there anything I can do?
     
  5. dsw182

    dsw182
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    755
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +9
    Strange, as the menus should definitely be sent in 16:9 if it's been set.
     
  6. Tyler Durden

    Tyler Durden
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
    Ratings:
    +263
    That's what I thought. Anyone know how to sort it?
     
  7. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    I assume the amp is converting the SKY output to component so maybe the problem is with the connection method between the digibox and amp, w/s switching signals perhaps?
     
  8. Tyler Durden

    Tyler Durden
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
    Ratings:
    +263
    Can you elaborate further? Sorry I am not sure what this means!
     
  9. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,224
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    Silly question, but you do have your Sky box set to output in widescreen and not 4:3 or 4:3L ?
     
  10. Tyler Durden

    Tyler Durden
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,076
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
    Ratings:
    +263
    Yes, it is switched to widescreen.

    Just realised that it the sky box plays in perfect full widescreen through scart to my widescreen lcd. So I guess it is a problem with the convertion that the amp is doing, but god knows how to sort that out!
     
  11. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979


    Scart carries a switching command to tell the TV when it is receiving a 16:9 broadcast, I don't believe this is present on s-video or RF so if you are using s-video to the amp which is being converted to component then perhaps the projector is not receiving 16:9 or 2.35:1 (in a 16:9 frame) even if the digibox is set up as such.

    Just guessing but seeing that you confirm the digibox is feeding 16:9 to another display does indicate a problem in the signal path and conversion.
     
  12. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +712
    Correct in that the pin 8 switching (0 / 12 volts) can also assume a mid position (around 5 / 6 volts) to indicate a widescreen transmission.
    The alternative way of indicating widescreen is using WSS - Wide Screen Signalling" is a flag inserted on line 23 in the vertcial blanking interval (the same "unseen lines" area that is also used for teletext data).

    Chris Muriel, Manchester
     

Share This Page

Loading...