1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky (Not SKY+) remote with pioneer

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Alan A, Aug 13, 2005.

  1. Alan A

    Alan A
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone got their SKY (Pace box, original SKY, not SKY+) remote to control the sound on the Pioneer? I have used all trhe remote codes in the book and none work. (Pioneers was 0166 and that did not work)
     
  2. Enquirer

    Enquirer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try these

    137, 191, 065, 315
     
  3. Alan A

    Alan A
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are they not for the SKY+ remote being only three figures?
     
  4. Enquirer

    Enquirer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    no they are for both
     
  5. av2diefor

    av2diefor
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    These are the old codes, new ones are 137 194 451 191 065 398 371 389




    these are the instructions for 3 and 4 digit codes,




    The original remote with the word SKY inscribed within a white ellipse on the blue button. Second issue looks the same as the original but has updated codes. And the third issue has the word SKY with a crescent shaped swirl printed in white on the blue button. This version has a slightly different procedure to enter a 3 digit code. (The latest one has no white swirl on the blue SKY button).

    Programming the Sky remote to Operate the TV Receiver
    Identifying TV Remote Control Codes (Blink back)
    Setting up the SKY remote for RF Connections (No SCART)
    Programming the SKY remote to operate the TV Receiver

    Before the remote control can operate the TV it must be programmed to do so. A 3 or 4 digit code can be entered to select the correct IR command set, held in the remote control's memory.

    There is a database held on chip, in the remote control, which holds the IR codes for around 90 to 92% of TV manufacturers.

    The 4 digit code identifies the make/manufacturer. All individual codes stored for each manufacturer are identified by a 3 digit code which is listed below.

    The easiest way to set up the remote is to input the 3 digit code for the TV receiver if it is available.

    If the 3 digit code is not known then an additional facility allows you to input a 4 digit manufacturer's code which then allows you to step through all codes held for that manufacturer until the correct code is identified.

    The very newest TV receiver codes may not be stored in memory and it will not be until the next update of the remote's memory that these TV receivers can be controlled by the Sky remote

    TO PROGRAM THE remote USING THE 3 DIGIT CODE:

    1. Turn on the TV receiver

    2. Press TV on the Sky Remote Control

    3. Hold down SELECT and the RED buttons together for approximately two seconds, until the RED LED on the Sky remote blinks twice.

    4. Enter three digit code from list for the receiver (early versions now flash twice).

    5. Press select to enter code structure (the LED will flash twice if a valid code has been entered).

    6. Now press the STDBY button and test other functions.

    Repeat if necessary until a code is found that works most common functions.

    TO PROGRAM THE remote USING THE 4 DIGIT CODE:

    1. Turn your TV on.

    2. Press tv on your Sky remote control.

    3. Hold down select and the red button together for about two seconds, until the red light on the Sky remote control blinks twice.

    4. Press tv on your Sky remote control again.

    5. Key in the four digit code for your brand of TV. The light on the Sky remote control blinks twice. If the light blinks once only, recheck the code for your brand of TV and start again at Step 1.

    6. Press the standby button on your Sky remote control. If your TV switches off, press select. The light on the Sky remote control blinks twice (code stored). If your TV does not switch off, press tv, then press the standby button. Repeat this (press tv, then standby) until your TV turns off, then press select (stores code).

    If at this point the LED on the Sky remote control blinks three times then all possible codes for that make of receiver have been checked. Repeat from step one, ensuring that you enter the correct manufacturer code.

    At the end of the sequence, if you see the TV Guide screen, the remote control setup process is complete. If you did not see the TV Guide screen, you must now complete the following steps.

    8. Press tv on your Sky remote control.

    9. Hold down select and the green button together for about two seconds, until the red light on the Sky remote control blinks twice.

    10. Key in the number of the channel on your TV that you use for watching satellite TV.

    11. Press select on your Sky remote control. The red light blinks twice. The remote control setup process is complete.

    Identifying remote TV Remote Control Codes (Blink Back)

    If there is not a 3 digit code listed for your customers TV receiver then use the four digit method to find a code that works. The following steps will allow this code to be identified.

    1. Press the TV button on the Sky remote

    2. Hold down Select and the Red buttons together for approximately two seconds, until the Red LED on the Sky remote blinks twice.

    3. Key in 990 on the remote.

    4. Key in 1 on the numeric keypad and count the number of times the Red LED blinks. The number of blinks will indicate the first digit of the code

    Note that a 0 is represented by no blinks where you press the key.
    5. Input 2 on the numeric keypad and count the blinks to identify the second digit of the code.

    6. Input 3 on the numeric keypad and count the blinks to identify the third digit of the code.

    7. Write it down and keep it safely.
     
  6. Alan A

    Alan A
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It looks like the remote is one of the originals (blue background, white elipse, with sky in blue in the middle) as it will not work with any of the three digit codes (no double flash when codes entered into the remote)
    it looks like I will have to wait until I upgrade to the HD box :-(
     
  7. Enquirer

    Enquirer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No it does work! dont worry about double flashes ,the original remotes used three digit codes

    1. Turn on your TV.

    2. Press tv on your Sky remote control.

    3. Hold down select and the red button together for about two seconds, until the red light on the Sky remote control blinks twice.

    4. Key in the three digits

    5. Press Select then tv and try the handset, using all the function buttons like power, volume and channel etc.

    6. If the Direct set code did not work then start again from step 1 with the next three digit code in the list for the manufacturer of your TV.
     
  8. ikon66

    ikon66
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    418
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +2
    have you tried 0194?
     
  9. Alan A

    Alan A
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, yes i tried all the variants and none worked.
    Rang SKY, was on the phone for 45 mins and still no operator, so will try again tomorrow. :mad:
     

Share This Page

Loading...