1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sky + newbie question

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Ianch, Mar 23, 2005.

  1. Ianch

    Ianch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Want to move to sky+ to allow me to record programmes - seen a few sky + boxes advertised on Ebay but do I have to make any changes to my Sky subscription/set-up or can I 'plug and play'
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Depends on your current subscription. If your monthly outlay is above ~£30 a month, you will probably be OK. Otherwise it's £10 a month for the Sky+ features.
     
  3. Ianch

    Ianch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm on the full subscription £41 month - do I need to inform sky or can I just plug the new sky+ box in and start recording ?
     
  4. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +88
    You'll need to let Sky know as they have to 'marry' the viewing card to the box - ring them up, give them the card number and they'll do the rest.

    John
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979



    SKY+ require two LNB feeds, the single LNB needs to be replaced with a twin or quad unit. The SKY+ can operate from a single LNB feed but it cripples it so much it is only viable if you simply do not have the option of getting a second feed (communal system etc).
     
  6. shaithis

    shaithis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,635
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Last Aerie
    Ratings:
    +30
    You need Sky to do 2 things:

    1. Match your card with your new box

    2. Flag your sub as Sky+
     

Share This Page

Loading...