1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky + New Version

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by neiljones, Aug 9, 2004.

  1. neiljones

    neiljones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    northwest
    Ratings:
    +13
    Read in Sunday Times that Sky will release a new version of Sky + at Christmas. It states the new version will have a greater memory capacity and will retail at £399. They propose to allow people to buy and download films and create enough storage space to hold a library of programmes.
    What size hard disc I wonder ?
    NJ
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,213
    I wonder if this new box will be High Defintion ready, i.e. have component outputs or even HDMI? It would make sense for Sky to do this as it will encourage plasma/LCD owners to upgrade and will create an installed user base ready for the 2006 service (as well as give as better quality now)!

    Good question: numerous products will have HDD sizes of upto 240GB by Christmas so it could maybe as much as that - although the rumour mill is suggesting 160GB which is probably more realistic. However Sky have also been talking about new 'compression' to maximise HDD space.

    Surely - to all intensive purposes - that is what we do now when we set the Sky+ planner to record something (the payment of course being the subscription)!
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    So far the only specs released are 160gig hard drive and two USB ports, unless there is far more involved under the hood the £399 price is way too high.

    Don't expect a HD capable SKY STB until they have finialised the codec for the service and even then they probably won't go into production until early 2006, expecting the usual late summer/autumn launch window.
     
  4. deman77

    deman77
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    260
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    why give you an HD capabilities now if they can take your money later as well by triggering another way of upgrades? remember it's not just the murdoch's estate you have to support, but the son's bonus as well.
    160gigs would for HD is kinda low too.
    i wonder what else they'd stick in there, cause 4 times the capacity for double the money is hardly an appealing concept especially if you don't need it. I hardly manage to fill in my 40gig by the time the next bad thing happens to the SKY+ and kills my stuff (nah just happened once and they had replaced it the following weekend but i'm still bitter and can't resist the temptation to take it out on them).

    May be it will have the internet/SMS recordings management like they promised, but I would have thought that could be achieved by software upgrade.
     
  5. venkman

    venkman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Keighley
    Ratings:
    +4
    Maybe it will have a DVD writer built in?
     
  6. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Read that on this board and DigitalSpy.co.uk well before then. ;)

    http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/article/ds15252.html

    StooMonster
     
  7. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,213
  8. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
  9. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,213
    I hope so.
     
  10. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
  11. 7Seven

    7Seven
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd say it's real, as the Viewing Card slot is in the middle (near the bottom), and not on the left or right like the Pace V2 and Amstrad Sky+ boxes. The "160" sign does look just a little bit like it's been superimposed but I don't think it is/was. Unless a picture of a standard Sky+ box has been heavily edited to produce this pic, then I'd say it's the genuine article.
     
  12. finnis

    finnis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Today's London Evening Standard had a one-paragraph news story stating it's a 160Gb HD and will be released next month.
     
  13. dennis

    dennis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    surrey
    Ratings:
    +54
    for that money they can keep it :mad:
     
  14. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    it had better had a lot of extra functionality for that kind of money. A V2 box can very easily be upgraded to a 160Gb drive for around £50.
     
  15. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    There is certainly a method to the madness, this new box will be only one which can make use of new services that SKY have been rumoured to be working on and that to some will justify the extra expense over a standard SKY+ (self modified or not).

    Time will tell but you really would have more money than sense in opting for the SKY+160 over the standard model under the current package/service offerings:)
     
  16. Rob20

    Rob20
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,503
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +279
    £400, or £200 more than there current box is alot just for a larger HDD. IMO. How much would a 160GB HDD cost anyway? Less than £100 I'd guess. £300 would have been a more reasonable price.
     
  17. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    a 160Gb HDD would cost around the £50 mark.

    That is my point this box must do more than just have a bigger HDD otherwise is a complete and total rip off.
     
  18. 7Seven

    7Seven
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it true that Amstrad Sky+ is harder to upgrade just because it is hard to take the casing off due to there being excessive glue/adhesive on the screws?
     
  19. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Where are the USB slots? Perhaps on the rear?

    StooMonster
     
  20. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It depends on what their purpose is meant for.

    Controllers for games, connection to PC to allow internet recordings?
     
  21. 7Seven

    7Seven
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, either that or on the side. I think on the side is better as it gives easier access than at the back, yet it is still 'hidden away' so as to not compromise the 'look' of the product. Similar to the way the audio/video phono's at the front of a VCR can make it look slightly less appealing. When a device is connected, it'd be better if it was done so at the side so it doesn't get in the way but just as easy to connect as it would be if the USB ports were at the front.

    Are both Pace and Amstrad going to make the Sky+ 160?
     
  22. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Neither, it's Thompson isn't it; and Pace are rumoured to be on way out of Sky+ (for the moment).

    StooMonster
     
  23. 7Seven

    7Seven
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I found out about Thomson making the 160 box from plusworld.co.uk a few hours after posting. Thomson made Tivo's, the Sky+ 160 has 80 hrs recording capability but seems to be unreasonably priced. Do you guys know what I'm getting at???

    ... Yes, what I'm getting at is maybe the new Sky+ 160 has at least some Tivo-like funtionality - the ability to record a programmes that you may like automatically for instance. What do you guys think? I think I'm onto something...
     
  24. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Look, it does have that "160" on the front!
    http://www.plusworld.co.uk/ and see Thomson to build Sky+160 - first photograph published

    From the other article Sky+160 to sell Movies to your Hard Disk looks like BSkyB might be offering the possibility of you 'buying' a movie -- and it being stored on your HD -- so you can watch it at any time. Bit like pay-per-view but pay and permanent view.

    Guess they have to find a use for large storage volumes, can't see me using this "service" though. Can't see bobbles downloading movies onto HD to keep either. ;)

    StooMonster
     
  25. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes I never understood why it had the 7 day? limit on ppv.

    booble - you cheeky monkey :rolleyes:

    no I wouldn't use a HD to archive a film, any film I wanted to archive I would buy the dvd.

    Is it really your intention primarily use the HDD to archive rather than timeshift?

    even if you used the 250Gb to its full capacity it is only equivalent to just over 50 discs.
     
  26. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Sorry, edited at the same time as you posted. :oops:

    StooMonster
     
  27. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Me, nah, I'd never archive only timeshift, as above. I may get 160GB drive for my v2 Sky+ but only because there are loads of good programmes on in the winter and autumn and fekk all on in the summer and early autumn.

    There's not enough time to watch all these good series when they are on, so I could timeshift entire series (e.g. "24") and then watch in summer. :)

    StooMonster
     
  28. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sounds like a plan.

    If I could have one wish from sky+, and it will never happen, would be if it could be set not to tape adverts. Timeshifting the whole of something like 24 would be ideal. No wasted space on ads.
     

Share This Page

Loading...