1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sky multiroom

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by hitz, Jun 14, 2005.

  1. hitz

    hitz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interested in sky multiroom for bedroom. I phoned sky and they said its £99 +£10 subscription - but have to have both boxes connected to phone line at all times.
    My first box is over 12 months so does not need to be connected to phone line at the moment.
    I do not want to connect both boxes to phone line.
    So my question is - how can i get round this.
    If i buy the box/quad lnb etc from a retailer and get it installed from them - can i just ring sky to give me mirror subscription ? without having to connect both to phone line ?
    I really need a second box but cannot connect both to phone lines because of i do not want cables all over the place.
     
  2. vex

    vex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,888
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    London, Home Counties & North West
    Ratings:
    +261
    Simple answer is no, there is no way to get round this.

    You have to have both receivers connected to the same and registered phone line in order to get the mirror subs at £10.

    It is the only way sky can trace your second rx to the same address.
     
  3. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Well, how do you think the Sky signals are going to reach the second box ?

    Cables !

    Sky do check on multi-room boxes, and people who thought they could get away with it have had a nasty shock when they checked their bank statements :rolleyes:
     
  4. Bluevanman

    Bluevanman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can always pay the full package price for the mirror sub if you are that against the phone connection, but is it worth the extra money?
     
  5. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,036
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +383
    After the instalation cant oyu jsut cut the phone line?
     
  6. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    No, because they regularly instruct the boxes to "phone home" via a command via satellite. If it doesn't do it, you pay the extra subs !
     
  7. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,036
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +383
    But when they come to set it up will they put the phone lines in for you right?

    Also what disadvantage is there of ahving the phone line there?
     
  8. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    There isn't one, really.
     
  9. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,036
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +383
    LOL, okay. I got Sky the normal one now, I jsut leave it out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...