• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Question Sky multiroom help required please.

andybailey1972

Prominent Member
Hi ladies and gents,

Probably a simple answer to this but I have A Sky HD multiroom subscription and currently have a sky hd box in both the living room and one bedroom neither of which are wifi enabled. The lounge one is connected to the router via Ethernet cable and also connected to the telephone line.

The bedroom sky+ hd box has neither Ethernet cable or telephone lead connected. I want to view on-demand content on this TV, is the best way to do this via powerlink adaptors or could I get another router put in the bedroom and connect via Ethernet as this would also improve the wifi signal upstairs? Would a second router create a new wifi network or could it just 'extend' the current network?

Also do I really need to connect a telephone line to the second box? What benefit would that give?

Many thanks in advance

Andy

Pokey800

Established Member
Hi ladies and gents,

Probably a simple answer to this but I have A Sky HD multiroom subscription and currently have a sky hd box in both the living room and one bedroom neither of which are wifi enabled. The lounge one is connected to the router via Ethernet cable and also connected to the telephone line.

The bedroom sky+ hd box has neither Ethernet cable or telephone lead connected. I want to view on-demand content on this TV, is the best way to do this via powerlink adaptors or could I get another router put in the bedroom and connect via Ethernet as this would also improve the wifi signal upstairs? Would a second router create a new wifi network or could it just 'extend' the current network?

Also do I really need to connect a telephone line to the second box? What benefit would that give?