Sky Magic Eye Problems

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by andy1992, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. andy1992

    andy1992
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    Had a look at previous threads and definitive guide on magic eye but cant see an answer to my problem.

    Sky + box being used. RF2 back to SLx Gold Dist Amp 8 way, then to 3 seperate tv's all with magic eyes. Picture and sound perfect. All magic eye's have red lights on but cannot change channels ( with any of the sky + controls only volume). One of the tvs of the three was working but has also recently stopped workinh as per other two. Had all cables out of tv's magic eyes and from the SLx in the loft but no joy. If channel is to be changed on any of the three tv's then this has to be done from the main tv with the sky+ box. Could it be there is a fault with the SLx, before i purchase another there may be a simple reason for this not working.


    Thanks to anyone who can help.
     
  2. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    Use one of the Eyes and chase the fault from the back of the Sky box checking whether it works or not at every cable connection on the route to the bedrooms.
     
  3. andy1992

    andy1992
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    So although picture and sound is great, could this mean that the connections are not great because i am unable to chnage channels etc. I thought that if picture and sound is perfect then connections were ok. Or am i wrong with this assumption??
     
  4. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    You are wrong I'm afraid. (Picture and sound reach your TV aerial without any wires or connectors..............)
     
  5. andy1992

    andy1992
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will try this and see how it goes.
     
  6. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    I'm lost on some of the details, after reading them several times.:)
    "3 seperate tv's....Picture and sound perfect" but "One of the tvs of the three was working but has also recently stopped workinh as per other two":confused:
    "cannot change channels ( with any of the sky + controls only volume)" - what does "only volume" mean?
    "If channel is to be changed on any of the three tv's" - is that the TVs' channel or the Sky channel?
    "this has to be done from the main tv with the sky+ box" - which is it, the TV, or the Sky?
     
  7. andy1992

    andy1992
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Tv in main room which is connected to Sky + box.

    3 further tvs in seperate rooms of which are connected to sky+ via SLx dist amp of which all three allow me to watch a perfect picture and sound as per what is being watched on main tv directly linmked to sky+ box.
    The 3 tvs that are linked have magic eyes which show red but i cannot change the channels (sky channels) via these, this has to be done at the main tv in different room that is connected to Sky + box. One of the tvs with magic eye was allowing to change chanells but te other two did not. Now all three are not allowing to chnge channel. The only operation on these three tvs that works with Sky+ controls is the volume, which works the tv. The tvs on control works fine it is the sky opertaion of changing channels and accessing tv guide etc is issue.


    Thanks
     
  8. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    I understood the first time.........:laugh:
     
  9. MartinPickering

    MartinPickering
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,953
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Greek Island
    Ratings:
    +507
    Yes.

    It's best to use a question mark (?) for a question. It stands out better than a comma.
     
  10. andy1992

    andy1992
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys,

    I will try first response given (chase fault back), and if no joy as i thought a faulty SLx perhaps.
     
  11. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    S N: How does changing the TVs' channels come into this?;)
     
  12. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    Where did "TV" channels come into this?
     
  13. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    In the bit I quoted "One of the tvs with magic eye was allowing to change chanells".
     
  14. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    Where did "TV" channels come into this?

    OK, gotchya......but you're stretching semantics a bit far. ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 4, 2012
  15. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,021
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    That's how I like them, well stretched.:laugh:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice