Sky, Mac, Music in multiple rooms

Phil80

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi, I've just bought a new house and want to wire it completely so I can have Sky, Mac and music in every room. I'm a electrician by trade so able to do all wiring myself but I'm wonder what my best options are. I would like I have Sky hd in each room, individual controlled. Mac in each room all going back to a central point and music in each room individually controlled in each room. What's the best option?

Do you want it so you can watch different sky channels in different locations at the same time or just that you can get Sky into each location but will only be watching one location at any one time?
What sound do you want in each location? Just from the TV or a surround system in each location?
How many locations for each element?

Are you saying a Mac computer in each room or access to a central Mac in each room ?

Maybe a sketch of what you are trying to achieve with number of rooms and sources would help

Seb

I would like to be able to watch Sky HD different channels in each room. I would like to be able to have a data connection in each room that access a central Mac pc and also play different music in each room, this could be a Sonos system but was wondering if this could be linked to the Mac. I would like all the kit to be located in one place so I don't have to have boxes in each room. Just a to/monitor in each room

For each room you will require a Sky box and subscription. How many rooms ?

The data connection to the Mac what is this for, just for streaming music ?

If so Sonos will be able to access the Music stored on the Mac.

What you would require cabling wise, is at least 3 Cat6 runs to each room from your central point. One for HDMI Over Cat6, one for each Sonos speaker (though this could be wireless , though might as well be wired if you are cabling), one for Networking Smart TVs.