Sky LNB OUtdated?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Laughingjester, Oct 16, 2004.

1. Laughingjester

Laughingjester

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

Ive been using an old Pace digibox for the past 12 months without any problems.

I recently got a newer box, a PACE BSKYB 2500S3 as i wanted things to run smoother and faster.

Upon hooking this box up it kept saying "No satalite signal is being received" In the services menu it stated that there was no signal or lock. I plugged my old one and it worked fine. I re cut the sat lead and got a nice connection again and plugged the new one in, still no signal, Plugged the old one in Signal!

I rang sky up and after 3 hours off calls back and fro they said that it was the LNB?? I asked how come, they stated that the LNB might not be compatable with the new sky box.

I know this box is in 100% working order as it was in use up until last week.

Has anybody got any ideas as to what the problem could be and if it is the LNB or are skjy just using this an excuse as they themselves dont know?? Surely they wouldnt make boxes they wouldnt be compatable with older lnb's as this would cause alot of problems. OR IS THIS to good to be true, after all it is sky!

HELP! :lease:

2. gbmitie

gbmitie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +65
    its the box, lnb's dont change.

gb--

3. GGTVBD

GGTVBD

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +324
    That model uses a 'zif' tuner. That'll be the cause of the symptoms you describe.

Can be repaired - about £25 for a tuner plus fitting. Not a real tough job but you do need to be competent with a soldering iron if you're doing it yourself.

A. Dork

4. Laughingjester

Laughingjester

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI Arthur