1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky Lip-Sync

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by C11 XFF, Oct 24, 2005.

1. C11 XFF

C11 XFF
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to AV and I have searched the forums and read quite a bit about lip-sync, so I apologies if this is old news.

I don't think I have a problem with my equipment as over the weekend I have just seen it on certain channels. Does anyone else notice this.

I was watching a live football match on Prem Plus and at half time when the commentators were on the lip sync was quite bad. I changed channel and the problem went away. My girlfriend also noticed it on ITV (Emmerdale...which I do not watch :nono: ) and she said it was quite bad. I also noticed it on Sky Movies 1 but couldnt find it on any other channels.

I have come to the conclusion that it is a Sky problem and maybe i am just noticing it since i got a much larger screen :) I also have a new amp, but if it was the amp I think I would experience it on all channels as well as DVD's.

Any thoughts, comments?

2. Mep

Mep

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +460
    you don't say what your new screen is but this is a very common problem caused by the plasma (for example) taking that bit longer to process your picture than your amp does processing the sound. Does your amp have an audio delay feature?

3. C11 XFF

C11 XFF
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    My screen is a Pioneer 436XDE and the amp is a Denon 1906. The amp does have an audio delay feature on it, but if I alter this I will have more channels out of sync than I do now as it only appears on certain channels. Also I am not 100% sure, but it appears as if the audio is 'lagging' behind the picture...I will have another look at this tonight.