Sky+ launch.. now officially... Messed up!

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by VintageMark, Sep 1, 2001.

  1. VintageMark

    VintageMark
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2001
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I shouldnt be surprised...

    Had a call from my Sky engineer about 45mins ago telling me that Sky hadnt delivered the Sky+ Box too him... therefore he wouldnt be out today to fit it...

    So.. called Sky.. very friendly customer service lady spent ages calling all the engineers in the area... and what a surprise.. no one has them...

    Then she tells me they are getting numerous calls about the same issue... and it appears that Sky has messed up distribution of the new boxes (sounds to me like they have a problem and just havnt bothered)...

    And it gets better... do I have a new booking? No.. because they dont know when the problem will be fixed... just have to wait for Sky to call me...

    So... has anybody else faired better? Anybody actually manage to get one fitted today?

    Good luck to those waiting! Hope you do better than me!

    Mark.
     
  2. rdg

    rdg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am due to have an installation tomorrow - are all areas without the boxes?<br />I have to admit I wasn't expecting it to go well - even if they have the boxes, you just know something else will go wrong.<br />Worse is the question of whether the digital output will be worth having.<br />If mine arrives tomorrow, I'll post an update.
     
  3. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same story here, install booked for today and the engineer called me to tell me he didn't have any Sky+ boxes... bloody ridiculous! And you'll see we'll have to wait ages to get another date as they'll be booked up solid with all the people with dates after us... I'm well ****ed off, waited in all day cos the engineer said he was going to try and get one and he'd update me but did he call, did he hell.. <br />Off out to get ****ed and hopefully watch England stuff Germany....

    Andy
     
  4. ewan hoozarmy

    ewan hoozarmy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +31
    Well, just had mine installed all OK.

    The cable was replaced (the new cable is two co-ax's stuck next to each other)and the guy re-aligned my dish.

    Had to wait ages for my card to authorise (you use your existing card, not the new one they sent). Eventually I'm up and running and it is fantastic. Awesome.

    Pausing live TV is superb - half a second delay from hitting the button to it freezing.

    Hope you guys get sorted soon.

    Right, I'm off to carrying on playing!
     
  5. rdg

    rdg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you using the optical digital output for sound?
     
  6. rdg

    rdg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I meant also to ask if there is any change in picture quality ? - I have a first generation Pace box (now on crutches).
     
  7. ewan hoozarmy

    ewan hoozarmy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +31
    Yup, using optical out to my Sony 940 receiver.

    Pic quality is the same really, no noticeable difference.

    The menus are lightning quick, and skipping thru the channels is super-quick too.

    It really is an amazing bit of kit, I absolutely love it!

    Can't wait for the Dolby Digital broadcasts now...
     
  8. Jim Robson

    Jim Robson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Originally from the wonderful Granite City, Aberde
    Ratings:
    +1
    "The menus are lightning quick, and skipping thru the channels is super-quick too."

    Which box did you have before? If you had a 1st generation box then the menus would seem lighning quick. If you had a silver Panasonic and the menus are much faster than that, then the Sky+ box *is* indeed lightning fast!

    Why did he have to realign your dish? Was it out of alignment before? Have you noticed an improvement in Signal Quality and Strength due to the realignment? I realise that this might be a worthless comparison as different boxes give different readings. I especially noticed this when my good readings on my black Panasonic fell to mediocre after installing my silver Panasonic.

    Regards

    Jim <img src="biggrin.gif" border="0">

    [ 01-09-2001: Message edited by: Jim Robson ]</p>
     
  9. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to add to the excuses given by Sky re non install of Sky +. I got phone call from Sky at 12.10pm today to say my install would not go ahead because the engineer had lost the remote and they could not do the conection without it. Here is the fun bit, they then offered a new install date of Friday 14th Sept. Anyway after saying 'you are having a laugh' and speaking to a superviser still did not get what I want, which is an install tomorrow or Monday, but was a promise of a phone call Monday to try & fit me in this coming week, although I still think I won't get it until next Saturday the other date they offered. I did get agreement to month's free viewing for Sky+ and my standard package (Total £44). Suppose it's something !!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  10. ewan hoozarmy

    ewan hoozarmy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +31
    Yeah, I did have a first generation box - none other than the mighty Amstrad.

    So its a quantum leap having Sky+ now.
     
  11. ewan hoozarmy

    ewan hoozarmy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge, Cambs, UK
    Ratings:
    +31
    My dish was out of alignment - I suspected this because even during a light shower of rain the signal would disappear.

    The signal strength is now much higher, as is signal quality.

    Hasn't made any difference during normal viewing though.
     
  12. VintageMark

    VintageMark
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2001
    Messages:
    160
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +0
    AVUser:

    You did well! I tried to get some "compensation" and all they offered was £10... and the earliest installation they can offer me is Monday 10th...

    I havnt accepted the £10 as I intend to put something in writing...

    Appalling treatment of customers who were prepared to jump in early if you ask me...

    Mark.
     
  13. rdg

    rdg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I can now join those that sat by the phone, waiting only to hear those magic words 'no stock'. Only in my case, they didn't even call, so getting up early on a Sunday was a total waste of time.<br />Concerned about MarkT's trauma, I rang Sky yesterday to ask if my area had stock, to be told 'of course they do'.<br />And so I waited until 12.00pm, patiently I thought, before I made that call. So I have even to pay for the priviledge of accessing Sky's incompetence.<br />I have to wait now for the 12/9/01, although holding my breath would be dangerous.

    For those wanting to vent their... concerns, the Fax number for the Livingstone (don't know if that's the correct spelling) Call Centre/ Customer Services dealing with Sky+ is

    (01506) 484391

    Now for the devil drink...
     
  14. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The problem is they have got us all over a barrel, we all want it and they know it. I honestly felt like telling them to stuff it and to make matters worse I got a second phone call Saturday night to tell me the same thing. Oh for some decent rivals to Sky
     
  15. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    all this is another reson i was unwilling to bother with sky+.

    it sounds just like when they first changed to digital in the first place .<br />i was one of the fist to order digi . i ordered it months befor it came out .i was given a dat on the day it was released . it took three months after my orig install date befor i got it . they charged my twice for the box and made a pigs ear of the install

    this all sounds just so familiar to me <img src="frown.gif" border="0">
     
  16. rdg

    rdg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do they have us over a barrel?<br />What I want is a good digital output, and secondly the hard drive.<br />If there is much more nonsense I'll either get a Sony box and possibly the JVC harddrive (costs more but no subscription) or even consider a Nokia for terrestrial.
     

Share This Page

Loading...