Sky+ Jerking when recording

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by pincher99, Dec 23, 2006.

  1. pincher99

    pincher99
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quickie for you guys - whenever I use Sky+ to record a channel it makes viewing of any other channel almost impossible; the pricture jerks, freezes & pixellates and the sound is also very bad.

    If I stop recording, the picture goes back to perfect.

    In addition, the recorded programmes are also jerky etc.

    Just been on the phone to Sky who say it's not the LNB (we had multi-room installed in the Summer and have had no problems whatsoever with that) and it could be that the hard-disk is on it's way out and that as I have had the box for almost 2 years, it is out of warranty. I tried to argue that if it was the hard-disk failing, then it was obviously not 'fit for purpose' but didn't get very far with that one! :thumbsdow

    Could I just put a new hard-drive in - would that fix the problem?

    Any help/advice appreciated :smashin:
     
  2. pincher99

    pincher99
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone?
     
  3. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,551
    Probably and loads of people do just that.
    Do a search of this forum and you will see plenty of posts on the subject.
     
  4. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    In the early days the hard drive used by SKY+ carried a 3 year warranty via it's original manufacturer, some people got replacements by going direct and bypassing SKY.
    Don't know if this is still the case.
     
  5. fixerman

    fixerman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hounslow
    Ratings:
    +11
    Try a Sky+ planner rebuild. It worked for me on Sky HD. Good luck!:thumbsup:
     
  6. FRANTIC FRANC

    FRANTIC FRANC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +86
    If it is a Amstrad PVR2 then it is the norm - see my post on the test.

    Cheers, Franc
     

Share This Page

Loading...