1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sky+ installation question

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by father alice, Aug 24, 2005.

  1. father alice

    father alice
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I noticed when I was up the ladder putting in a third cable for freesat that the installer had not covered the f plugs with any boots or tape - just screwed them onto the lnb, and lowered the plastic cover shield (it is a grundig quad lnb). Is this normal, or should the plugs be covered properly?

    Also, he used R6U cable instead of ct100, and charged me £15 to "move the dish, and run new cable - 2 new runs of cable required from the new location, instead of the extra one from the old dish point" (2 x 14m run used) I even ran the cable through the house for him, as I have conduit inplace already.

    I noticed I signed the install paperwork saying £0 paid too!!

    Does this sound normal?

    I would have moved the dish myself, but wanted him to do it as he had a sat meter, and expected him to use ct100 - I could have R6u myself easily (@15p/M), ct100 would have required a 50m roll (although I guess I could have looked at the neighbours dish!)

    That said, signal strength and quality is 75%, so no probs really, but concerned over the external f plugs.

    (btw it was a contractor rather than a sky engineer)
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Sounds like a cowboy outfit to me. You should always use self-amalgamating tape or a rubber boot and grease. I would always use the former. You will eventually get water in the cable.
     
  3. DRGL

    DRGL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire,UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Get on the blower to $ky!! AFAIK contractors are not allowed to charge any extras on site,the fact that your paper work say's £0 would back this up! People really do need to start looking at what they are signing for! I know people put pressure on you to "just sign here" (so i can bugger off) but if they don't like waiting tell them you won't sign!
     
  4. father alice

    father alice
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Am I right in thinking that sky stipulate ct100 or better? Clearly R6U is not equal to this.

    I didn't mind paying the £15, as I was having the dish moved prior to an extension. I guess Sky would have charged £50 to move it at a later date.

    Still thought I would check on installation standards before emailing sky, but i think I will now.
    Might get a goodwill gesture I suppose!
     
  5. SamRadford

    SamRadford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    N. Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +309

Share This Page

Loading...