Sky+ Hidden Commands

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by phanco, Aug 31, 2004.

  1. phanco

    phanco
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +16
    I'm just about to embark on upgrading my V1 sky box (80Gb Maxtor on order - thought I'd start simple and cheap @ £30).

    Is it possible to get a 'sticky' with all the hidden menu commands (Full system reset etc) that might be useful. It is difficult to find individual commands in the other threads ...

    Anyone out there able to provide a list and a brief para about what the command does ?
     
  2. phanco

    phanco
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +16
    no Takers ?
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    A Full System Reset wipes the hard drive and series link data leaving the hard drive in a virgin state, can fix some problems but is a last resort since you lose all recordings.
    I personally believe that doing this whenever the opportunity presents itself is no bad thing but I am still on a basic 40gig drive so can on occasion can empty it through normal viewing.


    Hummers website covers many upgrade issues.
     
  4. Fernsehman

    Fernsehman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    With the latest software, I understand you can now limit the "reset" to simply updating the EPG. It's in the "hidden" menu.

    [services] 401 [select]
     
  5. bobbles

    bobbles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you are ugrading a V1 do not use the planner rebuild it can lead to the 17min bug
     
  6. phanco

    phanco
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +16
    If I do a planner rebuild on a virgin disk, I wont get the 17min bug (or will I)...

    The again, this would probably be pointless on a vigin disk as I will be doing a full reset anyway...
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice