1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky HD with Plasma

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by mcav, Jan 30, 2005.

  1. mcav

    mcav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    456
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    Is anyone able to clear this up completley?

    Currently under consideration for me is the Panasonic PW7. Its a great looking plasma with a great quality picture.

    Now the problem with Hi Def connectivity has become apparent. Sky have apparently said they are going to use HDCP through HDMI, using 720p and 1080i

    Now let me check I have this right.

    The current HDMI board for the Panny PW7 (if you can even get it) Does NOT support 720p or 1080i

    So I suposse the question is - can you get a converter that takes an HDMI signal and converts it to DVi and still supports 720p and 1080i? If so, surely that would be the obvious solution for getting Hi Def Sky on your PW7??

    Anyone?

    Cheers...
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    The issue is not the resolution but the frequency. My PHD panny is running 720p right now on DVI, just it runs at 60 Hz not 50. A video scaler can do this conversion, but can leave some unpleasant jerkiness if you are a footie fan. I'm not and it doesn't bother me in the slightest. Other ways may become apparent, but all have drawbacks.
     
  3. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,212
    MAW, appreciate you have probably answered this a thousand times but if one does go down the scaler 50Hz to 60Hz conversion route will this still work with protected content output from Sky's High Def HDMI connections?
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Yes it will, if you buy the right scaler, DVDo HD+ or several of the Lumagen ones
     
  5. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,212
    Many thanks - that's what I thought but always worth checking.
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    You need to check your susceptibility to judder. It will make plasma choice easier. If you really can't take it, it's a field of 1 at present, if the saints are not your thing you might find it entirely bearable, and the picture is truly fab with it in every other way.
     
  7. Andrew_P_S

    Andrew_P_S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,779
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,466
    Andrew P S

    The 50hz to 60Hz Frame Rate Conversion does vary between different Video Processors and is very dependent on the source material being viewed.

    As MAW says football (usually shot on Video) is not a huge success - Movies on SKY on the other hand can and do look excellent.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Having looked at the spec of that processor, I don't think it will perform frame rate conversion on DVI inputs, so it's a no go. I don't have a price, and what on earth would you want with an analogue tuner?? Stick with the known qualities of DVDO, Lumagen, or may be cristallio
     
  10. absthechatter

    absthechatter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I thought the Plasma Enhancer was a Crystalio, just specifically produced for plasmas and with a bit less tweaking and more automation. I could be completely wrong though.

    Abs
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    If so they've cut off some features. I couldn't say other than that.
     
  12. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    50Hz to 60Hz conversion generates judder in motion. Most obvious examples are camera pans (e.g. football) but true in movies too, also scrolling text in particular be it vertical (movie credit) or horizontal (news tickers). Judder is not normally visible in "talking head" shots though, which make up much visual content.

    One should also consider that many screens have fixed internal frame buffers (often at 60Hz) and do this all the time. For example my bedroom LCD converts everything to 60Hz, my friend's Pioneer MXE plasma converts everything to 72Hz (with similar effect), etc.

    StooMonster
     
  13. Andrew_P_S

    Andrew_P_S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    MAW

    The Plasma Enhancer is a Cristallio product. Due out in the next few weeks, and following an emailed reply today, does perform FRC on the HDMI ports. I guess my logic ran along the lines of a piece of kit built specifically for the job may run out cheaper than a 'dogs jangly' version that jumps through hoops I haven't got.....? if you get my drift......
     
  14. Oblomov

    Oblomov
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Stoolmonster.

    Tell your friend to select FRC Mode 2 on the MXE1, then it will display at 50hz (assuming that the input signal is 50hz) and the picture will be very much smoother. As far as I'm aware the MXE1 is the only plasma with this facility and not to use it is akin to shooting oneself in the foot.
     
  15. Oblomov

    Oblomov
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Oops.....Many apologies for getting your name wrong, Stoomonster.

    She Who Must Be Obeyed was putting dinner on the table, hence the somewhat hasty post. I did not have time to mention that, in theory, flicker could be a problem when displaying at 50hz. Whether this would as offputting as judder I very much doubt.
     
  16. Andyuk911

    Andyuk911
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    For the Pixel magic , I think there is one gotcha.
    quote 'HDMI (HDCP, Video only) inputs x 2 for SDTV & 480p/567p processing and HDTV passthrough' end quote

    So the HDTV signal will not be scaled to 1024x768.

    Also I can think of lots of reasons for a TV Tuner, 'her in doors, her in doors :)

    So you need a Lumagen amongest others.
     

Share This Page

Loading...