Sky+HD surround sound

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Windeos, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. Windeos

    Windeos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi,

    Just a quick question, if I was to connect my living room tv to a hdmi splitter with the hdmi cable going to my living room plasma and then another hdmi cable to my bedroom tv, coaxial to bedroom tv and optical to living room tv.

    Would I get DD5.1 in both tv's during hd broadcasts at the same time?
     
  2. derek500

    derek500
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,743
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +497
    Sky don't do DD through HDMI. The only way is via optical, or on the new boxes coaxial or optical.
     
  3. dwhite

    dwhite
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    7,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Whitehaven
    Ratings:
    +1,805
    I think he knows that, for as well as HDMI hes sending coax (presumably the digital coax) to the bedroom and optical in the living room. I think he means do the digital coax and optical output at the same time and the answer is yes.
     
  4. bragg2012

    bragg2012
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a similar questioin...

    Im going to have sky hd in the living room connected to a HDMI splitter which takes the additional HDMI (2) cable to the bedroom straight to the tv.

    From this splitter in the living room the HDMI (1) will go into my 5.1 reciever along with an optical cable to carry the HD audio.

    So my question is, does sky output audio over hdmi and also the 5.1 audio via optical at the same time? So I can get sky hd in the living room with 5.1 surround, and then when needed, basic sky hd through a small lcd.
     
  5. derek500

    derek500
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,743
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +497
    Yes, your'e correct. Whether or not both TVs have DD5.1 capability is another question. There aren't many.
     
  6. dwhite

    dwhite
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    7,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Whitehaven
    Ratings:
    +1,805
    The outputs of sky are all active at the same time, with the following provisos

    1) HD channels will only be in SD on the Scart, Svideo and RF outputs.

    2) Audio from HDMI will only be in stereo.

    With the above conditions, all the audio and video outputs are active at the same time. Its quite useful in that way, it makes it easier to distribute sky.
     
  7. Windeos

    Windeos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks for the replies, most helpful.

    I've got q acoustic set up in my room (5.1) and another 5.1 system in the living room so was wanting to know if I'm able to have DD5.1 in both rooms at the same time. Thanks for all the replies
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice