Sky HD planner filling up with random recordings

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Sparkmeister, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. Sparkmeister

    Sparkmeister
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Y Fenni
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have an Amstrad DRX890 Sky HD box. It's been working fine since last April but today I noticed the planner fill up with about 50+ random entries for either planned recordings or recordings that have been attempted and failed, none of which I asked for. The planner also had a few entries called 'Searching', which if you select them, it takes you back to the top of the planner.

    The only change I've made recently was unplugging the telephone connection. I've searched the Internet it seems other people have experienced the same problem (mainly on older Sky+ boxes) but none of the threads I read offered a sensible solution.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. holiday

    holiday
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +4
    You can try to do a rebuild of your sky plus planner go on services,on the remote go down then press 0 0 1 then sky + Rebuild and try that. If I were you try to add the telephone cable in to see if it is that which is causing the issue as well.
     
  3. Sparkmeister

    Sparkmeister
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Y Fenni
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks. Presumably, that won't delete the other stuff in my planner that I want to keep? It also occurred to me that the recordings that I didn't ask for might be the result of Sky Anytime going wrong - something I never use anyway. Any merit in that theory?
     
  4. holiday

    holiday
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +4
    your recordings will still be kept i do not know the asnswer for the second question sorry
     
  5. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    It's the first time we've had anything like this, or anything at all about the 890, so I don't have a solution other than the rebuild, but I do suggest that you turn off Anytime anyway.
     
  6. DJMS

    DJMS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    794
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +72
    I have has smething similar where it says "searching" in place of my recordings. Are you sure these entries are in addition to your recordings and not in place of?

    A full power down always did the trick for me. Havent had the problem for at least 6 months though
     
  7. Sparkmeister

    Sparkmeister
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Y Fenni
    Ratings:
    +2
    They are in addition to my recordings.

    I did a full power down and the unwanted recordings have stopped for now. I still have "Searching" in my planner, which I guess a rebuild will take care of.

    Thanks.
     
  8. oosyadaddy

    oosyadaddy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    What make of TV do you have, anything unusual like Baird etc ??
     
  9. Sparkmeister

    Sparkmeister
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Y Fenni
    Ratings:
    +2
    It's a Panasonic, with an AVR600 receiver inbetween the two.
     
  10. Miss Chief

    Miss Chief
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    7,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,187
    Check your signal, (services, 0, 4) and check you have a signal on input 2.
     
  11. Sparkmeister

    Sparkmeister
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Y Fenni
    Ratings:
    +2
    The signal strength for inputs 1 & 2 are about 75% and 50% respectively, and showing a signal quality of about 90% and 40% respectively.

    Is that normal / acceptable?
     
  12. Sparkmeister

    Sparkmeister
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Y Fenni
    Ratings:
    +2
    A rebuild hasn't got rid of the Searching entry in the planner.
     
  13. simon194

    simon194
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +199
    The Searching... entries are ones looking for the next episode in a series link. It happens if the next episode is more than 7 days ahead or the broadcaster hasn't flagged the last episode of a series correctly. They usually disappear after 2 or 3 days if they don't link.
     
  14. ahayes

    ahayes
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have exactly the same problem. My box has set up recording on channels that I don't subscribe to and BBC1 West Mids/East Mids! I have done a planner rebuild but I still keep getting these random recordings.
     
  15. Sparkmeister

    Sparkmeister
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Y Fenni
    Ratings:
    +2
    Mine started soon after I unplugged the telephone connection. How about you?

    Also, the reandom recording stopped after a power cycle - I just can't get rid of the 'Searching' entry in my planner despite a rebuild.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice