Sky HD on a 1080p display

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Gordon A, Mar 25, 2006.

  1. Gordon A

    Gordon A
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +37
    Sorry if this is a basic (or daft!) question, but would there be any differences in picture quality when running Sky HD on a native 1080p screen (i.e. Toshiba's new 47WLT66 or 42WLT66) against a 1080i screen?
     
  2. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    Be very surprised if there's a noticeable difference without a 1080p source. (be very surprised if there's a noticeable difference WITH a 1080p source too though ;) )
     
  3. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +396
    Yeah, the 1080i image would not need to downscale if the screen is 1080p.
     
  4. Rob20

    Rob20
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,264
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +776
    First off, I'd like to point out that as far as I'm concerened this Toshiba tv isn't 1080p. Why? because it can't and won't accept a 1080p signal. What it does, (as with numerous other so called 1080p sets- Sony's SXRD rear pro, + it's qualia projector for example), is take a 1080i signal and de-interlace it into a 1080p signal. Though surely as lcd's and plasmas are progressive by nature they would all have to do this!? :confused:
     
  5. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +396
    Rob20, the Toshiba WLT66 does accept 1080p native :)
    Or am I confused?
     
  6. frankmsl

    frankmsl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Cork
    Ratings:
    +10
    If I understand it correctly, most Plasmas automatically select the correct signal settings. If a 720p signal is received on a 1080p set, then it is displayed as 720p. Most sets will also say they are compatible with 1080i or 1080p, which means they can display them but will downgrade them to suit the optimum refreshrate and resolution of teh screen.

    Your Toshiba screem may actually have a better picture with 1080i simply because the screen itself has a higher resolution (1920 horizontal), while most other 1080i screens currently on the market have a horizontal resolution of 1366. I have my NEC Plasma for 3 years now, it is 1080i compatible, but only has a resolution of 853 dots, so I won't get the same improvements people with newer higher specced screens get.
     
  7. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    You'll notice any reference to this TV says
    unlikely unless you want a big black border all round the picture
    Yes
     
  8. Pebb

    Pebb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +829
    I know 1080p means a res of 2kx1k. Thats what the Playstation & SCEE chairman said at E3 05.
     
  9. Rob20

    Rob20
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,264
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +776
    I may be wrong on this one, but I could have sworn that in either what vid and wide tv or Home Cinema Choice, there was an article stating that Toshiba had admitted during the recent CES that their 1080p lcd was not able to accept a 1080p signal via HDMI, but upconverted 1080i to 1080p. I think it was in last months feature on 1080p tvs. Problem is, just today I gave mine to my local library so I can't check. Perhaps somebody here has last months issues of the 2 mags and can look. I think it was in HCC.
     
  10. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +396
    You might be right, Toshiba haven't released any manuals or listings for the TV yet. We will have to wait and see.
     

Share This Page

Loading...