Sky HD Multi Room

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by aland, Mar 8, 2006.

  1. aland

    aland
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    At present I have Sky + in two rooms feeding second room from sky + box output then through splitter/amp. Also I have Sky in three rooms feeding other 2 rooms through another splitter/amp. My rooms are currently wired with coax. Anyone any ideas on how Sky HD will work with multi room, will it need HDMI cable throughout the house?
     
  2. Geordie Bry

    Geordie Bry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,036
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +64
    you would need a hi def box for each tv
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    The SKY+ HD supports TVlink so it could simply replace the existing SKY+ or by adding a second LNB feed replace a standard box.

    HD output will not be carried over coaxial though (component and HDMI only) just downconverted HD or plain SD.
     
  4. aland

    aland
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like I can replace my Sky+ and Sky boxes with Sky HD boxes and feed other rooms through TV links, other rooms would not have HD, I can live with that, but what is the max number of outputs from the LNB, I am currently using 4, 2 for Sky+, 1 for Sky and 1 for freeview, sounds like I will need to lose my freeview if I am limited to 4.
     
  5. paulfoley

    paulfoley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    3,643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hants
    Ratings:
    +122
    Anyone reckon this will work (and its free) ?

    I am planning on putting my SkyHD Box under my LCD in the lounge & connecting it via HDMI. I then plan to send a second signal out to my AV Room via a 15M Component Lead plus 15M stereo pair. I will use my component video sender to extend the Remote Control Signal (not for picture or sound).

    Not sure if the box will send both HD Signals at once or if I will need to switch them via the menu?

    :rolleyes:
     
  6. Boney

    Boney
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a 'quatro', as opposed to a quad, LNB which has 1 cable for each polarity, 4 in total, and feeds a multi-switch which has 12 outputs. This means I can have up to 12 Sky Digiboxes / 6 Sky + STBs or any combination. It will of course drive SkyHD too when that (eventually) comes along.

    With the right installation you are not therefore limited to 4.

    Regards

    Boney
     
  7. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975



    That seems perfectly reasonable and there is nothing to suggest that HD over component would be blocked it you were also watching via HDMI (or vice versa) after all the SD outputs will be active when viewing a HD channel.

    Of course we will only know for sure once it's launched:)
     
  8. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975



    Yeah an IF distribution system is more user friendly if you really do need a lot of independent feeds alebeit more expensive and a little more complex to install.

    If that isn't an attractive option then SKY are expected to offer a Octo LNB and I believe a second dish is no longer an issue with your local council.
     
  9. Pebb

    Pebb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +829
    I was going to pray my Mum and Dad were going to get Sky HD so we can do this multi room. But I thought since i am the first person in my family to get a HDTV, i thought i might aswell pay for Sky HD after all.

    So it seems I be the first to get a Sky HD Box in my family, the only downside is i need to worry if my Dad will try and steal the Sky HD Box and HDTV erm. But it is funny:

    I was the first to get a MP3 out of all my family.
    I was the first to get a HDTV out of all my family.
    I was the first to get a HD ready console aka 360 out of all my family.
    First out of all my family to have a custom built PC, aswell as being the first in my family to get a 64bit CPU.

    About to be the first in my family to go to Goodwood FOS on my own, aswell as being the first in my family to get a DSLR hopfully. Its funny isn't it all this HDTV stuff lol.
     
  10. kamaran

    kamaran
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    I bet you were the first to laugh too :thumbsup:
     
  11. Pebb

    Pebb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +829
    I think I’ll was the first to see my Dad being jealous, when he saw my HDTV lol.
     
  12. Sparky101

    Sparky101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Wow, your family must be sooo jealous of you.....:confused: I can just imagine your parents being so gutted that you were the first to go somewhere on your own.
     
  13. Pebb

    Pebb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    13,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Ratings:
    +829
    Goodwood Festive of Speed is jam packed full of car and bike nuts, it is crazy going with a group of people. But it is extra crazy going on your own, to the biggest motorsport and car event in the world mate.
     
  14. Sparky101

    Sparky101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Well you be careful now. :p
     
  15. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Just make sure you're not the first person in the family to get a CCJ for not keeping up the payments :D
     
  16. Fusewire

    Fusewire
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +104
    Might be missing something but what is the great achievement in going on your own :confused:

    Do you have no friends to go with ??
     
  17. Fusewire

    Fusewire
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +104
    Taken from his public profile...

    Occupation:
    Alldays Shop Worker, GK in Training :eek:

    That sounds like a lot of kit to pay for on an Alldays shop worker salary, could be on for another first. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...