SKY HD Box

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Goonboy, Sep 28, 2005.

  1. Goonboy

    Goonboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +3
    Image Attached
     

    Attached Files:

  2. The_Munter

    The_Munter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    When??!
     
  3. Goonboy

    Goonboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have no more idea than has been posted before ... 2006
     
  4. The_Munter

    The_Munter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1
    Stuff magazine says Feb 2006 - I was hoping they'd sneak a few out in time for XMas!
     
  5. Goonboy

    Goonboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +3
    It would appear that they are missing a rather large opportunity ... but when did SKY ever make sense ?
     
  6. royfox

    royfox
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've just spent over a year and several thousand pounds getting all my equipment from black to silver...

    What do sky do..

    Make it a predominately black box...

    Thanks Sky..

    :)
     
  7. Flyshuttle

    Flyshuttle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hopefully it will have replaceable covers like the Xbox 360 so you can make it match, the only bit of black i ave left is my Xbox.

    Jon.
     
  8. Fordy

    Fordy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +24
    i like the way the top of the thing collapses under the weight of the remote lol
     
  9. cooperda

    cooperda
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,034
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +119
    I read there is a real shortage - overdemand - for the newest MPEG4 decoder chips.

    I expect Sky what to have comfidence in supplying any demand they generate.

    Cheers, Dave C.
     
  10. ijd

    ijd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +126
    this world revolves within sky, sky does not revolve around the world, if you want it, tou will get it when mr murdoch says so, and not before.
     
  11. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +477
    funny I've only ever seen people complaining about all their kit being black and sky being 'silver' .....why can't they just do them in both varieties.....surely it can't be too difficult??
     
  12. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Got rid of all black kits years ago ... wish new Sky HD was silver or white or aluminium or platinum coloured.

    StooMonster
     
  13. Sick Boy

    Sick Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,091
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +138
    Does it matter what it looks like if Sky just get some cheap electronics firm to make them? The picture it produces is the most important factor.
     
  14. ijd

    ijd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +126
    sorry cant agree with that, if you have a high end system and it looks very smart in black, would you really want to spoil the effect of it all with a silver or white box, bit of a sore thumb. i know some people dont give a dam about what the system looks like but how it performs, for me personally it has to both perform and look the part, after all it is in my living room and i have to look at it most days. :eek:
     
  15. poshngoldenball

    poshngoldenball
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am sure MAW will make you a cardboard cutout of the sky HD box in any colour you want, it's his thing , does a lovely panny LCD 500 :rotfl:
     
  16. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    By the way, the card slot on the right is for your credit card, to electronically extract the HD subscriptions :rotfl:
     
  17. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Well, somehow I just can't get excited about a HD box made by Amstrad. Just call me an old cynic :rolleyes:
     
  18. The_Munter

    The_Munter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1

    Aren't Thomson making them? They're OK aren't they?
     
  19. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
    Yes, Thomson are making the first gen HD box. Not having owned anything made by them, I can't comment on their general reliability.

    Steve
     
  20. Tony_R

    Tony_R
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rather than start a new thread I thought my question could be answered here.

    On Tuesday I got a new JVC LT26DSB HDTV LCD for my bedroom. The main TV downstairs is a 30" CRT TV. Which has a standard Sky box.

    Now I want to take up Skys offer of getting Sky installed in another room for £50 for the box, free installation and £10 extra a month.

    But once Sky HD comes out I will want a HD feed for my TV upstairs. So as its only going to be 4-5 months should I wait for Sky HD? Just pay the £50 for the box and pay out again in February?

    Any idea how much the HD box would cost? I'm wondering if I tell Sky I'm planning on getting HD Sky when it comes out, would they do a deal on a free box in the interim?

    Also can you have an non HD feed on one TV and a HD feed on another from the same satellite?
     
  21. The_Munter

    The_Munter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +1

    It sounds like you can afford to "waste" £50 for a few months! :)
     
  22. KevD

    KevD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    10,703
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,563
    I'm hoping there will be a HD Sky+ Box available. I know not all channels will be broadcast in HD but a bigger HDD will be needed to record a normal channels wit HD Movies thrown in.
     
  23. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
    The new HD box does have 2 tuners with Sky+ features and I would expect it to have a large HDD - hopefully at least 400Gb.

    Steve
     
  24. ijd

    ijd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +126
    :rotfl: Nick-uk you are nothing more than an av snob :hiya:
    the boxes are made to sky spec so it does not matter if it has an amstrad name on it bang&olufson, nakamichi bose or THOMPSON what the fudge! the workings will all be the same,
    who for gods sake are pace???
    but i do know what you mean, my old sky box was amstrad but i did ask if i could perhaps have a panasonic :mad: ..
     
  25. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975




    In principle you are totally correct however in practice the situation is not so clear cut.
    Yep the spec is the same but each manufacturer can choose the components they deem acceptable (well apart from NDS supplied parts) and therefore price/performance and reliabilty become a factor in construction and ultimately the final product.

    No matter what SKY says there are differences between PACE, Amstrad and Thomsons sourced SKY+ units and even though I want to say that it shouldn't make any real difference I would be foolish to say it doesn't:)

    It's a shame but if Amstrad were making the first SKY+ HD I would be worried after their very poor showing with their second and subsequent SKY+ models (vertical banding, slow menus, noise etc etc).
     
  26. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    No, it's just that I've been around these forums rather longer than you have, and I seem to recall that just about every box that Amstrad have ever released has been plagued with problems of one sort or another. I'm not an "AV snob", but I'm a firm believer in the old saying "You get what you pay for", and one of the aspects of Sky that I do not like is the ability to choose from a range of boxes. The "one size fits all" Sky policy suits Sky, but does not suit me. I would happily pay a little more for a better quality box.
     
  27. ijd

    ijd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +126
    hope you didnt take offence nick , that was totally tongue in cheek.
    i think its fair to say we all know where amstrad lie in the quality of their products, i do find it a bit strange that sky only commision the low end manufacturers to produce the bulk of their equipment, i do know panasonic did have their finger in the sky box pie but these seem to be few and far between,i also dont understand why sky dont use a quality manufacturer and give us the consumer a choice, if we want premium products we should at least be given the option of an upgrade at a suitable cost.I would gladly pay extra to keep the names on my equipment topgrade
     
  28. Boy Lex

    Boy Lex
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll be interested to know whether this box will do a half decent job of upscaling SD... I would suspect it does a p**s poor job of it and that many people will be spending a fortune for "HD" and watching crappy upscaling for 99% of their viewing just so they can use the HD port on their telly.
     
  29. TEDDYBASS

    TEDDYBASS
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried getting in touch with sky to find out if they would be doing price reductions or deals on HD boxes when they ccme out for those that take up a sky+ sub now. Unfortunately i got bored listening to the machines with scottish accents and thought I would waste my time here instead.
    So, has anyone else with nothing else to do for an hour contacted sky to find out ????
     
  30. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I doubt whether you'll see any special offers on HD for at least 2 years. Do you really think Sky are going to discount the price when there are people already waiting with cheque books in hand, when nobody actually knows what the price is going to be ?

    Also, having seen what people are expecting of this new HD box - an upscaler, a hard disk of at least 400GB, digital and analogue outputs, USB ports, etc, I think some big subsidies are going to have to be found if the box is going to hit the shops at £399 :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...