Sky HD Box - no RGB connections

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Neilsmalcolm, Feb 11, 2014.

  1. Neilsmalcolm

    Neilsmalcolm
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    Obvious statement but my Sky HD box has no RGB connections - standard I guess now.
    If I have a component video cable with 5 connections - RGB plus the red & white audio - how can that be connected to a Sky HD box?
    Is there a converter?
    Can I use put the RGB cable into s Scart converter and use that on the Sky box?

    Issue I have is that I have bought a Hauppauge PVR 2 and want to record tv from Sky.
    I have read that a Neet HDMI splitter will get round the HDCP encryption so I could use HDMI connections.

    Any prompt advice welcome.

    Thank you.
     
  2. winston2010

    winston2010
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +191
  3. simon194

    simon194
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +221
    Unfortunately you read wrong. Neet splitters are HDCP compliant and AFAIK have always been so won't work with the Hauppauge.
     
  4. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,600
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,335
    The Sky box does have RGB connections (which are SD only and always are on any equipment) in the SCART socket. However this is not what I think you want - if you are referring to red, green and blue sockets with an HD output these are "component video" outputs and the only Sky HD+ box which ever had these is the original Thomson HD box which will shortly be rendered useless for subscription HD channels. What you need is an HDMI to YPbPr Component Video converter (such as a HDFury and other makes listed on Amazon etc and NOT an HDMI to component cable) plus an HDMI splitter if you want to connect to HDMI on a TV at the same time as recording.
     
  5. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,600
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,335
  6. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,777
    Hii and welcome to the forum.
    Which is it - component cable, or RGB +Audio cable?
     
  7. Neilsmalcolm

    Neilsmalcolm
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi sorry I seem to be confusing folks!
    More detail - I have a Hauppauge PVR 2 machine now and want to be able to record/copy programmes from my Sky box.
    The PVR 2 connects with a 5 way RGB cable at the PVR 2 end (red, green, blue + red & white audio) and has the same connections at the other end which will NOT fit at the back of my Sky HD box.

    Hope that helps a bit.

    Thanks.
     
  8. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,777
    OK - then you need
     
  9. Neilsmalcolm

    Neilsmalcolm
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've read about the HD Fury which seems very pricey and about the same as I laid fir the PVR.
    If I wasn't bothered about HD is there another solution to record from Sky using the Hauppauge PVR 2?

    I'm not doubting any opinions here which are all useful. Just seems there would be an easy way to connect from the OVR to the Sky box that does not gave the RGB connectors.
     
  10. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,600
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,335
    Please stop referring to them as RGB connectors - that is an analogue SD only video connection - please call it component video or you will confuse people. The PVR2 only has HD connections (HDMI or component video) and will not connect to SD only outputs. HDMI has been deliberately designed to make recording from it not cheap or easy to prevent easy pirating of material. What are you recording to (if a set top box make and model please) - what is an OVR?

    There are easy and relatively cheap methods of recording SD depending on what you recording to. More info please.
     
  11. Neilsmalcolm

    Neilsmalcolm
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok accept the cable is component video & not RGB.

    OVR was a typo - sorry.

    I want to record FROM & offload some items off the Sky planner - does not have to be HD quality but would be preferable. Happy to know best SD options too.

    My Sky HD box is I believe the DRX890 shown as Sky as manufacturer- made by Amstrad?

    As I said before I gave bought Hauppauge PVR 2 to copy to with a laptop attached.
     
  12. neilball

    neilball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Ratings:
    +643
    JS Technology make a scart RGB to component video converter, usually retails for around £100 and will be SD only. If you want HD then the HDFury is the only practical option.
     
  13. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    What's wrong with:- Sky HDMI to Hauppauge HDMI In. Hauppauge HDMI Out to TV?
    (The Hauppauge spec states HDMI pass through.)

    Free!
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2014
  14. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,170
    It has HDMI in, use that plus an HDCP stripper.
    The PVR doesn't support hdcp, hence the need for a splitter as some have outputs that strip the hdcp.
     
  15. Iain42

    Iain42
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,509
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +1,185
    I looked into that a while ago, and I believe that the HDMI connection suffers from being HDCP compliant. From the Hauppauge web site -

    Can I record high definition TV from a Cable TV or Satellite box?
    Yes. By connecting the Component video output from your high definition cable TV or satellite TV set top box to the Component video inputs of the HD PVR 2, you will be able to record the TV programs coming from your set top box to the hard disk. Component video connections are normally the Red/Green/Blue connectors on the back of a set top box. Sometimes they are also called YPrPb or YCrCb connectors.
    The HD PVR 2 model 1512 comes with the cables to connect to your satellite or cable TV set top box.
     
  16. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    He said he is not too fussed about it being in SD, and this method requires no expenditure and can be performed today. Also, I believe, not all HD content requires HDCP compliance.
     
  17. Neilsmalcolm

    Neilsmalcolm
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok guys thanks for all the input to date. Happy to receive more. It has crossed my mind whether to return the Hauppauge device but I'd like to persevere.

    I want to make this work without any further major expense. I don't mind £20/£30 or so for another cable or adaptor but if it can work with what is supplied then great.
     

Share This Page

Loading...