Sky+HD and Sky Broadband

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Atomic_guy, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. Atomic_guy

    Atomic_guy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I called up the customer services to inquire about Sky's 16Mb broadband as
    they are offering 3 months free line rental as well as 3 months free broadband.

    I asked the sale guy to do speed check in my area and it shows I can get
    up to 6Mb max. So my question then was, I should get the 8Mb Mid option
    and get the special offer? But his response was no I should get 16Mb to get
    the special offer.

    I am slightly confused to why he is trying to sell me 16Mb when my local
    area does not support that speed and can never reach that speed of 16Mb.

    Has anyone bought broadband with Sky? Was the speed anywhere near the
    advertised speed?
     
  2. Boon72

    Boon72
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +104
    i think all BB over adsl is upto speed not actual speed, im on the 8mb n get between 5-6mb i did get the 16mb as it came unlimited where the 8mb has a 40gb limit, but i found out i wasnt gettin near the 40gb limit even with consoles n pc so i downgraded from £10 to £5 as it all helps
     
  3. Atomic_guy

    Atomic_guy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats interesting info. Did Sky charged you any fees to downgrade to 8Mb?
     
  4. Boon72

    Boon72
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +104
    nope, the upto 8mb with a 40gb limit should be enough for most people, ive downloaded linux distro's, demo's, updates etc and never hit it. even if i did id get a letter or email apparently, after 3 they would upgrade you to the max package
     
  5. Atomic_guy

    Atomic_guy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont understand this. The sale guy told me over the phone that if I to take
    16Mb and to downgrade it at later time then I will have to pay £20 fees for
    downgrade charge. Was he talking from his rear side or something?
     
  6. Boon72

    Boon72
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +104
    im not sure things may of changed, but last year when i changed mine there was no charge
     
  7. sizedoesmatter

    sizedoesmatter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +27
    I just upgraded to the mid package & they warned me I'd only get 6 meg. Happy that he warned me upfront but I was more interested in the up in download limits so went ahead anyway. Do you want the speed or the unlimited downloads or both.

    I asked about downgrading & he said there was no tie in as its an upgrade but I don't know about new customers, do you already have a BB package with sky?
     
  8. Atomic_guy

    Atomic_guy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    currently my BB is not with Sky but with Virgin media. The sale's guy at Sky mentioned that If I take Sky BB, say 16Mb and downgrade it at later time
    then I will be incurred with £20 downgrade fees. I am not sure whether this
    information he passed on to me is correct? Can anyone verify this to me
    please?
     
  9. JESUSLOVESYOU

    JESUSLOVESYOU

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    I was also told by sky that if you downgrade you get a £20 fee.
    But I downgraded about 4 months ago and didnt get charged a bean !
     
  10. simon194

    simon194
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +221
    Sometimes the up to 16 meg can pull out a few surprises.

    When I was on a straight up to 8Mb I was getting 6.8Mb and after I upgraded to the up to 16Mb package I'm getting around 11.7Mb. I can up it to nearly 14Mb if I set the target SNR to 6dB which is the minmum my line is stable with.
     
  11. Atomic_guy

    Atomic_guy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think the BB speed depends on how far you live from your exchange. The closer
    the better speed you'll get. Also not all exchange support high speed.

    What is SNR? (signal to Noise Ratio)?
     
  12. simon194

    simon194
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    1,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +221
    That what SNR is.

    The line length does have an impact as do the attenuation and noise on the line.

    Where I used to live there were overhead phone lines and during the day I got a stable 5Mb but at night it dropped down to around 3.5Mb because of the noise generated on the line by the street lights.
     
  13. sunil1234

    sunil1234
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +121

Share This Page

Loading...