Sky Hd And Existing Compatiable Tv's

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by potshot, Sep 2, 2005.

  1. potshot

    potshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +181
    Hi does anybody know what existing tv's will work high def from sky. I have a toshiba picture frame picture frame 2 tv and I think it will take the 700p output from sky HD via component output.


    Does anybody know which existing TV's will accept the 700p spec.

    I am sure there are plenty of members who will want to know the answer, saves buying a new TV.

    pot
     
  2. scarty16

    scarty16
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,058
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +97
    try the Plasma, LCD forums aetc s they have long lists
     
  3. potshot

    potshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +181
    I am thinking more of the crt tv's at present, some will take the 700p spec from the sky HD box.

    Which ones will.
     
  4. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    As far as I know only one model from JVC and Samsung can actually take HD source material (1080i only I believe) but those were built for HD, they are not PAL spec sets which can accept progressive signals from a DVD player via component.
     
  5. scarty16

    scarty16
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,058
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +97
    720p at 50hz and 1080i at 50hz

    is what you need thrugh HDMI/DVI (HDCP) or analogue to get HD
     
  6. potshot

    potshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +181
    The box will come out with a component out for 720p and 1080i as well as hdmi/dvi, my toshiba picture frame tv is progressive scan that is the component in and I am sure it can handle the 700 lines because of the progressive scan.

    I wouldn't buy one the new HD plasma's thats out at the mo, they are well over priced and by next year they will be half the price.

    Just out its not compatiable so will buy a new plasma next year. What are the best HD ones out.
     
  7. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    What is the model?
    I expect the CRT takes PAL progressive (576p) and as it is based on a 625line tube is not capable of accepting or displaying a 1280*720p signal.

    The SKY+ HD may be able to supply a 576p feed via component but considering what the STB will cost it's alot of money for a little return.
     
  8. potshot

    potshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +181
    Found out its not compatiable.
     

Share This Page

Loading...