Sky HD and 5.1 sound dropout via optical - help please before purchase of amp...

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by pedwards13, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. pedwards13

    pedwards13
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, newbie here and about to make first delve into home cinema...

    Have been researching these forums, and have seen plenty of mentions of the 5.1 signal from Sky HD dropping out on various amps

    Can anyone confirm for me if there any problems with the Onkyo 605 and Sky HD? Will be connecting SKy HD > TV with HDMI and Sky HD > Onkyo 605 via optical

    Thanks in advance,

    Paul
     
  2. mitchec1

    mitchec1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,825
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Birchington
    Ratings:
    +2,082
    Onkyo 605 will be fine for 5.1 from Sky HD via optical, none of the Onkyo's have any major issues with Sky HD
     
  3. Dodger3

    Dodger3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    Is this only a problem with some amps and not others?
     
  4. pedwards13

    pedwards13
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for your help - hopefully it will be OK!
     
  5. smjxm09

    smjxm09
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +81
    It affects my Sony Amp but with the fault recorded on the hard drive I can't see how it is an amp issue
     
  6. Ultra2man

    Ultra2man
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,140
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +260
    The audio drop outs are a Sky transmission problem and nothing to do with the amp.
    As said in the last post if it is recorded onto the hard drive there is nothing you can do about it.
    You can as often watch a movie with no drop outs as have one that drops out frequently.
    This is one of the biggest bugs with Sky and is not restricted to the HD box. I used to get exactly the same with my old Pace Sky+ box.
     
  7. 961

    961
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Berwickshire
    Ratings:
    +667
    As said elsewhere this is a transmission problem and can be found regardless of the hardware and cabling within your installation

    You eventually learn to live with it:suicide:
     

Share This Page

Loading...