1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky goes wrong after 1 year - again

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by leeshim, Feb 16, 2005.

  1. leeshim

    leeshim
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry if this is answered elsewhere.

    I bought my original Sky package about 5 years ago. After 1 year and 1 week of ownership, the box failed. Result - engineer called out at cost of £50.

    About 1 year and 2 weeks ago, I got Sky+ installed and the original box moved to the bedroom.

    I am now getting "no satellite signal is being received" on both systems. A call to the helpdesk and they are categoric it is the dish or the LNB and an engineer is needed (for £65).

    Strangely though, I can get BBC1, BBC2 and ITV plus digital teletext on the Sky+ box. I cannot get Ch4, Ch5 or any Sky channels.

    Am I being paranoid or is it the dish/LNB at fault? If so, how can I still be getting 3 channels plus digital teletext through the Sky+ box?

    I could just pay the £65 but I have heard similar stories of systems failing immediately they are out of warranty.

    Any help much appreciated.

    Cheers
     
  2. tonym

    tonym
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    say that you would like to cancel your subscription. This has worked for me. 3 times.Never fails. Assuming you subscribe.
     
  3. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    I agree
    phone up, cancel subscription, they will give you a free repair in no time.
     
  4. panther

    panther
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Leeshim

    ive got exactly the same symtoms as you describe have you had any look in sorting it out.
     
  5. sallyann

    sallyann
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Sky+ box failed twice a couple of weeks before the warranty ran out, and once more just after the warranty ran out. When I called tech support, they were more interested in selling me an extended warranty than fixing the problem. The problem was 'fixed' by a simple reset. I made it clear to them that I didn't want an extended warranty and if the box failed again I would probably scrap it and do without Sky. Strange, but it been working ok since then !
    Call me suspicious but .........!!!!!
     
  6. leeshim

    leeshim
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks all.

    Bizarrely it does intermittently come back on so cannot be the dish - perhaps a faulty connection somewhere I suppose. Still cannot explain why I get BBC1, BBC2, ITV but nothing else most of the time.

    Have tried resetting the box to no effect.

    I have asked an engineering-literate friend of mine to have a look first before I go back to Sky.
     
  7. Celebryn

    Celebryn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there any update on this, as I to am getting unwatchable signals on all channels, expect the BBC channels.

    Cheers,
     
  8. leeshim

    leeshim
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    LNB was brokena nd needed to be replaced apparently. Still not sure how I was managing to get some channels and not others.........
     

Share This Page

Loading...