1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky+ failed recordings - Any ideas?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by barneyman, Feb 18, 2005.

  1. barneyman

    barneyman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Odd one this... Sky+ standard v1 box

    For the last 3 nights recordings have failed, but not all of them, and now it hardly works at all.

    My troubles are below :( :mad: :confused:



    Tuesday : CSI fine & NYPD Blue fine at 11pm on FX, but the NYPD Blue at 2.30 in the morning failed (I recorded both as it had failed the previous night).

    On Tuesday, I had left the sky+ on standby, as normal, but it had froze and I needed to turn it off and restart. I also did a programme rebuild.

    Wednesday : The Apprentice on BBC1 & Ozbournes at 10pm on MTV fine, but Desperate Housewives at 11 on E4 and both NYPD Blues failed on FX.

    This time I left Sky+ on, but this morning it had turned itself off. I could turn it on again fine, but it said nothing was in the planner. So I turned if off at the wall, restarted and all my saved programmes were back, but three failings.

    UPDATE : And last night, the box kept shutting off even when watching TV, and not trying to record or watching a recording.

    And when we tried watching a recording, it will either play for a while and then cutoff, or not at all.

    Methinks the hard disk is on its way out but why is it only failing recordings later in the evening/night ?

    Would I only need to get a new hard drive to resolve this? :rolleyes:

    Gonna call sky and order sky+ 160 as its now out of warranty, but anyone had anything similar?

    :lease:

    cheers
     
  2. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    20,228
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +7,101
    Have you tried the housekeeping option? The one that wipes everything.

    Might be something to try first.
     
  3. Wackojacko32

    Wackojacko32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pinxton, Derbys
    Ratings:
    +1
    Why not upgrade the hardrive yourself. Can get the 160mb drive the use in the Sky+ 160 for around £80 I think. Just search the forum for compatible drives and/or visit www.hummer.co.uk for details of how its done.

    Wackojacko32
     
  4. Roger G Cam

    Roger G Cam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get the feeling the planner rebuild just makes things worse. Has done the only times I have used it! Definitely recommend a Full System Reset as per Greg. But - the fact that it is dying while you watch it does suggest something more terminal is happening.

    Good luck :smashin:

    Rogerl
     
  5. barneyman

    barneyman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the tips

    i will try the rebuild, but it has been making some clicking noises like the disk has failed.

    I recognise these noises from when my PC hard-disk went as well recently :mad:

    Isn't it tricky upgrading the v1 boxes?
     
  6. Wackojacko32

    Wackojacko32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pinxton, Derbys
    Ratings:
    +1
    I dont know I've never tried as I've only just got Sky+, although I have read something about the 17 minute bug on V1 boxes but thought this was fixed with a software upgrade. Apart from that it seems just like swapping HDD's in your PC, i.e. a piece of cake. :thumbsup:

    If your worried about upgrading there are places on the net that sell already upgraded boxes, with warranty for a lot less than £400. Google or Dealtime should find what your looking for.

    Wackojacko32
     
  7. ssuellid

    ssuellid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    My V1 Sky+ works fine with a 250GB HD in it. No problems so far and its been in for 4 months or so.

    I had a few failed recordings a while back and it turned out to be that the aerial cable for the second tuner had fallen out of the back of the box. Check the signal strength - its under the Services menu somewhere.
     
  8. Wishartd

    Wishartd
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been having similar problems for about three months now. Recordings " lost" from the Planner, recording failures, live pause not working etc. Each time I phoned Sky I was put through the usual procedure, eventually leading to an Engineer call out. The first engineer insisted it was a software problem that Sky know about and were working to correct. After resetting and reformatting the hard drive it worked fine for a month or two. Finally stopped working altogether last week and they replaced the box. This only worked for a week before "failing" to record, losing recorded programmes. Last call to Sky, today, resulted in the representative admitting the faults I was describing were all attributable to a "software fault" that they had known about for several months and were trying to resolve( no indication of when). Until it is fixed I was told all Sky+ customers could suffer same problems. The rep indicated he also was suffering from same failures. The fault will even lose recorded programmes you have already viewed ! I think this is a disgrace bearing in mind SKY are continuing to sell this service without disclosing it's faults. I have formally written to SKY to complain plus copies tp BBC Watchdog, Advertising Standards. Wait to see what response (if any) this brings.
     

Share This Page

Loading...