Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Sky+ failed recordings - Any ideas?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by barneyman, Feb 18, 2005.

  1. barneyman

    barneyman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Odd one this... Sky+ standard v1 box

    For the last 3 nights recordings have failed, but not all of them, and now it hardly works at all.

    My troubles are below :( :mad: :confused:



    Tuesday : CSI fine & NYPD Blue fine at 11pm on FX, but the NYPD Blue at 2.30 in the morning failed (I recorded both as it had failed the previous night).

    On Tuesday, I had left the sky+ on standby, as normal, but it had froze and I needed to turn it off and restart. I also did a programme rebuild.

    Wednesday : The Apprentice on BBC1 & Ozbournes at 10pm on MTV fine, but Desperate Housewives at 11 on E4 and both NYPD Blues failed on FX.

    This time I left Sky+ on, but this morning it had turned itself off. I could turn it on again fine, but it said nothing was in the planner. So I turned if off at the wall, restarted and all my saved programmes were back, but three failings.

    UPDATE : And last night, the box kept shutting off even when watching TV, and not trying to record or watching a recording.

    And when we tried watching a recording, it will either play for a while and then cutoff, or not at all.

    Methinks the hard disk is on its way out but why is it only failing recordings later in the evening/night ?

    Would I only need to get a new hard drive to resolve this? :rolleyes:

    Gonna call sky and order sky+ 160 as its now out of warranty, but anyone had anything similar?

    :lease:

    cheers
     
  2. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    22,757
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +9,548
    Have you tried the housekeeping option? The one that wipes everything.

    Might be something to try first.
     
  3. Wackojacko32

    Wackojacko32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pinxton, Derbys
    Ratings:
    +1
    Why not upgrade the hardrive yourself. Can get the 160mb drive the use in the Sky+ 160 for around £80 I think. Just search the forum for compatible drives and/or visit www.hummer.co.uk for details of how its done.

    Wackojacko32
     
  4. Roger G Cam

    Roger G Cam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get the feeling the planner rebuild just makes things worse. Has done the only times I have used it! Definitely recommend a Full System Reset as per Greg. But - the fact that it is dying while you watch it does suggest something more terminal is happening.

    Good luck :smashin:

    Rogerl
     
  5. barneyman

    barneyman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the tips

    i will try the rebuild, but it has been making some clicking noises like the disk has failed.

    I recognise these noises from when my PC hard-disk went as well recently :mad:

    Isn't it tricky upgrading the v1 boxes?
     
  6. Wackojacko32

    Wackojacko32
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pinxton, Derbys
    Ratings:
    +1
    I dont know I've never tried as I've only just got Sky+, although I have read something about the 17 minute bug on V1 boxes but thought this was fixed with a software upgrade. Apart from that it seems just like swapping HDD's in your PC, i.e. a piece of cake. :thumbsup:

    If your worried about upgrading there are places on the net that sell already upgraded boxes, with warranty for a lot less than £400. Google or Dealtime should find what your looking for.

    Wackojacko32
     
  7. ssuellid

    ssuellid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    My V1 Sky+ works fine with a 250GB HD in it. No problems so far and its been in for 4 months or so.

    I had a few failed recordings a while back and it turned out to be that the aerial cable for the second tuner had fallen out of the back of the box. Check the signal strength - its under the Services menu somewhere.
     
  8. Wishartd

    Wishartd
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been having similar problems for about three months now. Recordings " lost" from the Planner, recording failures, live pause not working etc. Each time I phoned Sky I was put through the usual procedure, eventually leading to an Engineer call out. The first engineer insisted it was a software problem that Sky know about and were working to correct. After resetting and reformatting the hard drive it worked fine for a month or two. Finally stopped working altogether last week and they replaced the box. This only worked for a week before "failing" to record, losing recorded programmes. Last call to Sky, today, resulted in the representative admitting the faults I was describing were all attributable to a "software fault" that they had known about for several months and were trying to resolve( no indication of when). Until it is fixed I was told all Sky+ customers could suffer same problems. The rep indicated he also was suffering from same failures. The fault will even lose recorded programmes you have already viewed ! I think this is a disgrace bearing in mind SKY are continuing to sell this service without disclosing it's faults. I have formally written to SKY to complain plus copies tp BBC Watchdog, Advertising Standards. Wait to see what response (if any) this brings.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice