Sky extends deal with HBO and announces new Home Page

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by hodg100, Jan 30, 2014.


    1. hodg100

      hodg100
      Reviewer & News Writer

      Joined:
      Aug 8, 2005
      Messages:
      14,087
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      4
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +4,460
    2. MAX1210

      MAX1210
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Mar 9, 2009
      Messages:
      4,525
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      3
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +1,239
      New guide looks good - should make it easier for swmbo to find the on demand stuff she wants.
       
    3. ldoodle

      ldoodle
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Apr 2, 2005
      Messages:
      6,561
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +1,018
      I'd like to see the ability to go backwards in the EPG. When you do so it is the equivalent of On Demand in that it pulls it down over the internet connection.

      Same as if a recording fails - you should be able to press Retry; if it has another showing in the guide it uses that, and if it's not available is pulls it down over the internet.
       
    4. lentrix

      lentrix
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 3, 2006
      Messages:
      680
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      43
      Ratings:
      +109
      Sky is great

      Atlantic is the best channel on sky imho
       
    5. nsewell

      nsewell
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 23, 2013
      Messages:
      524
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      43
      Ratings:
      +135
      Trust me a backwards EPG has been requested a lot. But there's some issues in the way, and the list of new features to add is really long, and sky has to prioritise its resources.
       
    6. rogerh

      rogerh
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jul 4, 2004
      Messages:
      446
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      21
      Location:
      Maidstone
      Ratings:
      +10
      Will this be available to all Sky+ boxes including the non-HD ones?
      The new EPG looks good and I especially welcome improved search as that has always been clumsy.
       
    7. nsewell

      nsewell
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 23, 2013
      Messages:
      524
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      43
      Ratings:
      +135
      I'm afraid not, this is only available to SkyHD & Sky+HD boxes except the Thomson ones.

      Thomson Sky+HD boxes won't ever receive a software update again.

      The old Sky boxes won't receive any more updates other than those nessisery for there continued operation.

      The new connected search has already been added to Sky+HD boxes, jut buy one on eBay cheap and swap your box over.
       
    8. rogerh

      rogerh
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jul 4, 2004
      Messages:
      446
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      21
      Location:
      Maidstone
      Ratings:
      +10
      I thought that might be the case. I wonder if the new EPG will also tie-in to a revised box. perhaps an opportunity for another "Designer" special issue?
       
    9. nsewell

      nsewell
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 23, 2013
      Messages:
      524
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      43
      Ratings:
      +135
      Not as far as I'm aware for the Sky+HD box, although we are expecting a wifi version of the SkyHD box to launch sometime this year.
       
    10. HMHB

      HMHB
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Nov 11, 2001
      Messages:
      27,390
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Nottinghamshire
      Ratings:
      +6,256
      I wonder if they'll still force you to have the telephone connection for a wifi version of the box?
       
    11. nsewell

      nsewell
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 23, 2013
      Messages:
      524
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      43
      Ratings:
      +135
      You don't have to have a telephone connection now for the non wifi one if your a new-ish customer.
      Currently it's based on when your multi room viewing card was activated.
      If it was activated on or after 18th December 2013 then you don't need a phoneline.
      However if it was activated before 18th December 2013 you still need your phone line connecting at the moment.
       
    12. ldoodle

      ldoodle
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Apr 2, 2005
      Messages:
      6,561
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +1,018
      I agree! I wasn't saying I wanted it yesterday :)
       

    Share This Page

    Loading...