1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SKY equivalent to freeview Help?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by SnakeUK, Dec 29, 2002.

1. SnakeUK

SnakeUK

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    As I am new to all this Sky business I would like to ask a few questions.

Ultimately I am interested in freeview but as freeview does not support my area then sky is my only option. As I understand it SKY are due to offer their equivalent service for £120.

If I pay sky £120 then surely it will come with a new digibox/satelite or is the £120 just for installing an equipment I have to buy beforehand.

I've also just realised that many manufaturers make sky digiboxes. I previously assumed only sky were able to make their equipment and that the boxes from Pace, Panasonic etc were for cable. So which digibox is the best. I am only looking to get it for the free digital channels.

Sky are currently offering £1 instalation if I subscribe to the premium service. Would it be a better idea for me to subscribe to this service for the minimum 2 month period and then revert to the minimum subscription service (£10 per month) for the next 10 months and then opt not to continue with any subscription. Am I right in assuming that I will be able to recieve the free digital service (freeview equivalent) automatically from this point on without the need for further equipment or charges.

Thanks

2. Starburst

Starburst

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +979
    SKY will be offering a non subscription package which will include a digibox and it's installation but I can not confirm the price.