1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky + empty but only 70% remaining

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Mr_Wistles, Jun 26, 2005.

  1. Mr_Wistles

    Mr_Wistles
    Suspended

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    11,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,947
    Hey there,

    On my sky it is empty but it says I only have 77% space remaining.

    I did a search on these forums and found the following: -

    "Planner rebuild . Press

    Services
    4
    0
    1
    select

    its option 7 iirc"

    I can go services, then 4 but after that I do not have these options.

    Can anyone help?

    Thanks a lot,

    Russell
     
  2. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,927
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,616
    Quoting me I believe .
    Don't look at the screen , just press the buttons . its there :smashin:
    Have faith my young padawan learner :D
    Top marks for searching before posting tho :smashin: :smashin:

    John
     
  3. kopite77

    kopite77
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Russell,

    This is the sequence for a Planner Re-Build: press Services the press 4,0,1 and then press select, this takes you to the installers "secret" menu, once you are in that menu press option 7 Planner Re-Build, then just follow the on screen instructions.

    Hope that helps. :)

    Regards,
    Ian.
     
  4. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +323
    Russell,

    You may as well do a 'full system reset' while you're in there, it works better than the 'planner re-build' more often than not. :)

    A. Dork
     
  5. neilsafc

    neilsafc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    sorry to hijak thread but a newbie with a similar problem. I have had my Sky + digi for about a year and its showing as only having 14% left but must have less than 20% of stuff recorded on it, want to keep a couple of episodes of 24 so before I do a planner rebuild will I lose stuff on the drive or will rebuilding hopefully just get back my missing space?

    Apologies for dumb question.
     
  6. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    As far as I have experienced you just get back the free space.
     
  7. Steve N

    Steve N
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    10,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1,693
    Be careful neilsafc, sacd is most probably correct but :-
    I had a similar problem some time ago and was warned by my local sat/av dealer that there was an element of risk and that I could lose all stored programs.
    I decided not to risk them and transferred them to my dvd recorder.
     
  8. DarrenPosh

    DarrenPosh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had similar problems several times over the past few months; failed recordings, unable to playback recordings etc etc.

    Rang customer services who talked me through the system rebuild a couple of times, rang them again last night (before being told about this forum) and this time they told me about the housekeeping option. I had expected to be getting a service visit but the guy told me that this is quite normal (depending on usage) and I might need to do the housekeeping once a month.

    Is it normal to have to do this or am I being fobbed off?
     
  9. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I won't say it's normal, but it does happen. Think of it as being similar to "defragging" your PC's hard drive. Planner rebuild shouldn't lose you recordings, but don't do a full system reset unless the drive is empty.
     
  10. DarrenPosh

    DarrenPosh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    I understand the defragging thing but I don't have to do that every month on my PC
     
  11. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Yes, file sizes on the Sky+ box tend to be rather larger than the files you store on the PC :)
     
  12. DarrenPosh

    DarrenPosh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah, good point. But why are some people seemingly affected more than others?
     
  13. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Good question ! I suppose a lot depends on whether a new recording fits in the space that is created by an old one being deleted. (I changed my original reply slightly, because I was sure that a pedant would tell me that Sky recordings were not the sizes I quoted, but were 1MB bigger :) )
     
  14. DarrenPosh

    DarrenPosh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    As a side note it is very rare for my disk to be any more than 30% used.
     
  15. DarrenPosh

    DarrenPosh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    **UPDATE**

    as well as some jumpy playback, Extras (again) failed to playback when wanted (0% used although I'm sure one time I looked at it it had recorded and used space properly)

    On the phone to Sky CS at 10pm after a couple of glasses of vino which I thought might not be the best thing to do :devil: but to my surprise they agreed to a free engineer visit as my first logged report of the problem back in April was 1 WEEK before the warranty ran out.

    They gave me a bit of a ticking off for doing rebuilds and resets without telling them (they like to keep a log of problems which I can appreciate as I'd doubt I'd have got the free visit if I hadn't called them at all) so will wait and see what happens when the engineer comes this afternoon.
     
  16. DarrenPosh

    DarrenPosh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    well, Sky man has been,changed the whole box and left me with a new one that whistles. Didn't realise till 20 minutes after he'd gone :oops:

    so have another engineer visit booked for Tuesday
     
  17. DarrenPosh

    DarrenPosh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    Despite talking to myself on this thread, another point.... :spam:

    The engineer who replaced the box left me his name and number in order to contact him if anything else went wrong as 'that's what Sky wants us to do these days'. As he was in a non-Sky van methinks he is trying to drum up some business for himself?

    My 'whistling' call went to Sky customer services, not him.
     
  18. DarrenPosh

    DarrenPosh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, another update for my fans :hiya:


    Engineer brough new, larger capacity Pace box :smashin:

    Unfortunately the hard drive has a bit of a clicky noise :thumbsdow , especially when recording, similar to a hard drive on a PC (figures, duh) but not experienced the same sort of noise on the previous 2 boxes.

    Currently thinking whether it is annoying enough to justify another engineer visit.
     

Share This Page

Loading...