sky e-mail (smtp.tools.sky.com)

Discussion in 'Sky Broadband' started by bluedude1875, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. bluedude1875

    bluedude1875
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    south birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    sky used to use smtp.sky.com now they are using smtp.tools.sky.com i have changed my seetings (im with office outlook btw) to the new address, i do a test and message comes up saying check e-mail fields. ive rang sky and they will ring back in up to 3 days with an answer!! the change over is end of january.. any ideas as what to do? ive changed port numbers, and user name. but i cant find a way round this [​IMG]
     
  2. bluedude1875

    bluedude1875
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    south birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for all the replies! :rotfl: i have got it sorted now. perserverance is the answer to most problems! :thumbsup:
     
  3. AQU4RIUS

    AQU4RIUS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +23
    so what was the solution? its driving me nuts!!!!!!!!!!:lease:
     
  4. raigraphixs

    raigraphixs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    64,672
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +25,143
    im having sky email problems on my imac/mail client, i cant send out anymore!, tried smtp.tools.sky.com too. :( ,
    used to work fine with stmp.sky.com
     
  5. anthonyhull

    anthonyhull
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know the answer to this?

    I can't send email either!!

    Using Max OsX mail on Leopard.

    Was working fine until yesterday :rolleyes:
     
  6. Daleboy16

    Daleboy16
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi
    Guys has you can see from my post Sky Password Im looking to find out you get the password you need to set up my uncles email does it come in post with his router or the activation date letter.

    Thanks in advance
     
  7. raigraphixs

    raigraphixs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    64,672
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +25,143
    found out why :rolleyes:


    Works fine now :) , edit - testing phase- as i use a different mail provider for incoming, and sky for outgoing.

    OSX Mail
    http://www.skyuser.co.uk/index.php?news=1249

    Others
    http://www.skyuser.co.uk/index.php?news=1369



    .
     
  8. raigraphixs

    raigraphixs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    64,672
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +25,143
    Problem

    I was using the same email as my website, as provided by the website people. And it was all fine in MAIL OSX, but now we have to use password/user name in the MAIL's server advanced option, otherwise it will not work.

    Now my outgoing emails are showing my sky email address! :mad:, and all replies go there.

    But i need them to show my website email address as before. Any way around it?
     
  9. pilotech

    pilotech
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    AAAARRRRGGGGHHHHH!!!

    I am having the same problem that all of my sent emails from [email protected] are going out as [email protected].
    I can't have this !! Looks rubbish for my business.:suicide:

    Took some time, but at least I can now send emails again.

    This is going to cause a lot of grief from sky broadband users.

    Really could do with some help getting this sorted out:lease:
     
  10. ianfreeman

    ianfreeman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Me too! All assistance most welcome! :lease:
     
  11. raigraphixs

    raigraphixs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    64,672
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +25,143
    sounds like at moment, this is how google's email system works, and there is no way around it, apart from using an external stmp provider ike authsmtp.com, etc to over come this problem, but means paying for it.

    My website hosting company only offers incoming emails, and not outgoing :(
     
  12. SkyBroadband:)

    SkyBroadband:)
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    skys new smtp server doesnt support non-sky email addresses, if using own domain names then there is no way to send with smtp.tools.sky.com without logging in with the sky email address and password, i dont see the problem with sky doing this.

    if people are using it for their businesses then if u look in your terms and conditions of the contract sky broadband and email is not for business use.
    gonna have to use different outgoing servers and for those people too stingy to pay for one if the business was so important then paying for an outgoing server shouldnt be a problem.
    nothing to do with sky
     
  13. mr. shr

    mr. shr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    How did you sort it, please?
    I can't send anything via outlook. Can receive everything fine though. Checked the settings about a million times, so really can't see what I'm doing wrong!!
     
  14. raigraphixs

    raigraphixs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    64,672
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +25,143
    if your on a pc you can try something like http://www.postcastserver.com/ , not used it myself as on a Mac.

    Currently my best solution is to forgot Sky all together, and upgrade my hosting package from a linux to a windows based server for about £20 and have a solid smtp outgoing sever from them :)



    .
     
  15. mr. shr

    mr. shr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Think my problem is because I'm using Office 2002.
    If I upgrade to 2003, I believe it will work ok.
     
  16. raigraphixs

    raigraphixs
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    64,672
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +25,143
    yes sorry, the link is for anyone who wants to use their own domain email address for outgoing, instead of sky, not sure if it works.
     
  17. pilotech

    pilotech
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    SkyBroadband:(, you are a twit. There are a lot of problems with sky doing this. Starting with the fact they have run it this way for years, now they change their policy - This is a problem.

    The Domain I am using is a family name, not the business. I do have my own smtp server too, but will only work on port 25, which sky block ! Bless them !!!
     
  18. adiii

    adiii
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    Take a look at the mail settings page under your "mysky"

    It kinda works :rolleyes:



    Using A Different From Address To Send Mail

    1. Log in to your Sky Email account.
    2. Click Mail Settings along the top of any page and then select the Accounts tab.
    3. Click Add another email address in the Send mail as section.
    4. Enter your full name in the Name field and the email address you'd like to send messages from in the Email address field.

    Replies are delivered to the From: address rather than your Sky Email address.

    Just click Specify a different reply-to address for replies to be delivered to another account
     
  19. mr. shr

    mr. shr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    When I enter all the settings into outlook and hit test account settings, it passes all the tests except the last one. Says that i need to check the email field is correct.
     
  20. adiii

    adiii
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    so check that the email address field is correct then..

    and...


    FOR OUTGOING:

    SMTP.TOOLS.SKY.COM

    PORT= 465

    USE AUTHENTICATION

    ENABLE SSL




    FOR INCOMING:

    POP.TOOLS.SKY.COM

    PORT=995

    SECURITY=SSL



    If youve failed login a few times you might have to wait 5 or 10 minutes to reset the failed login timer block
     
  21. mr. shr

    mr. shr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Have checked the email field a million times, and it is correct. The settings you listed in your last post are as per the sky instructions. I have used those EXACTLY as described but I still get the same message.

    Interestingly, I tried the same settings on my work laptop (it has outlook 2003) and it worked first time.
    But my home PC uses outlook 2002 and I'm thinking that's the problem.

    Has anyone else managed to get it working with outlook 2002?
     
  22. SkyBroadband:)

    SkyBroadband:)
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    sky havent been running the old server for years considering sky broadband has only gone live a year ago sky only block port 25 for skys outgoing server if your using your own smtp server then you shouldnt get this problem.

    how do i know this, because i work for them. skys email service is a free service supplied as part of your sky broadband package other domain names are not their problem.
     
  23. chenga28

    chenga28
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    SkyUser Forum have setup a SMTP server - so problem is sorted now, just mail them

    http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-email-portal-log/20308-demand-skyuser-smtp-server.html
     
  24. pookie75

    pookie75
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having set up my domain POP account with 123-reg and using outlook express along with my blackberry with SKY as my broadband provider it was all going tickety-boo.
    Then as we all know SKY switched their servers over without telling anyone (obviously never having heard of customer service) and we couldn't send email from our outlook accounts - nice.
    So we all changed our outging server to smtp.sky.tools.co.uk and found that worked very nicely thank you. A week later and it's on lock down again. Now I for one hate being at the mercy of SKY and have found a way around it. I contacted my email provider at 123.reg who advised me SKY are trying to force people to use their email [email protected]
    Hell will freeze over before I put my name in the same sentence as theirs.
    They are blocking anyone with a POP account due to 'excessive traffic'. I have phoned SKY who continue to say (as they have done for nearly 2 wks now)
    "Our engineers know there are problems and are working on it yada yada yada yawn yawn yawn..."
    So for those of you with a POP account and who want to retain their email address (like me for business purposes) and who want to bypass SKY completely, then pay attention.... I'm not sure but I think this only works if your POP account runs through 123-reg

    123-reg.co.uk have their own server. HA! Who needs SKY servers for email anyway when it's that rubbish!
    It means you don't need outlook anymore and the interface is very similar to outlook anyway so what's stopping you? It may not bring down the mighty Mr Murdoch but a 2 finger salute is just as gratifying! Stick that up and this in for a chance to feel smug...
    http://newwebmail.123-reg.co.uk
     
  25. SkyBroadband:)

    SkyBroadband:)
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    :hiya:im sorry but who is this to say that they would rather that hell freeze over before their name beside a sky email account ur able enough to avail of sky broadband for your internet provider if u dont want them and think it s so crap including the customer service then go back to 123.reg or whoever your previous isp is.
    oh yeah u prob cant because your probably availing of skys free base package, skys always good for something when u want it for free eh!!
    mr murdoch has enough customers without the likes of u, if the customer service is so bad then dont phone them. easy as, if ur broadband or email doesnt work, go else where, easy as.
     
  26. holcroft

    holcroft
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I use outlook 2007 and whatever I do and follow all the settings here, since the change over to smtp.tools.sky.com, I have never managed to send an email using my sky.com email account.
    Anybody got any ideas? Sky just says we are working on it?
     
  27. mark1080p

    mark1080p
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,647
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +584
    I have got Outlook 2002, and cant send or recieve emails at all....:mad:

    Here are my settings, but they are exactly what I was advised to put in...Please help if there is any other settings to check out...
    -------------------------------

    When I press the "Test Account Settings" I get green ticks apart from Send Test Email -

    This comes back failed - Please verify the e-mail address field

    My main settings are:

    User Information
    Your Name: My Name
    Email Address: [email protected]

    Logon Information
    Username: [email protected]
    Password: ******

    Incoming mail server (POP3) - pop.tools.sky.com
    Outgoing mail server (SMTP) - smtp.tools.sky.com

    More Settings (advanced Tab)

    Incoming Sever (POP3) - 995
    This has a tick box underneath, not a drop down (2002 version) - which is ticked:
    This server requires a secure connection (SSL)
    Outgoing Sever (SMTP) - 465
    This has a tick box underneath, not a drop down (2002 version) - which is ticked:
    This server requires a secure connection (SSL)

    Please Help:lease:
     
  28. mr. shr

    mr. shr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Are you sure you cannot receive emails? I was getting the same error message as you but I could still receive my new emails. You wont be able to send any new emails, but receiving should be fine.

    I got around the problem by upgrading to Office 2003. My feeling is that 2002 is just not compatible, unless anyone can suggest otherwise?
     
  29. mark1080p

    mark1080p
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,647
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +584
    No not receiving anything - Unless I go to tools > send/Receive > send/receive all...

    To test manually - I sent a message from my hotmail account, and has not appeared on outlook. I have to log in via sky.com to get new emails, and I had 4 in my inbox (inc one i sent from hotmail)..
     
  30. mr. shr

    mr. shr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    When you click on "send/receive all" do your emails come down? If so, that is the normal way to receive emails, unless you change the settings to automatically check for new mail at intervals of your choice.

    As above, it will not automatically appear in your inbox unless you either:

    • click "send/receive" button
    • change your settings so the outlook automatically checks for new emails every five mins (or what ever interval you wish).
     

Share This Page

Loading...