1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky drops a high definition bombshell

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by bullyx, Dec 4, 2004.

  1. bullyx

    bullyx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    Follow the link below to read more about Sky bombshell concerning HDCP

    http://www.homecinemachoice.com/cgi-bin/shownews.php?id=7231

    I'm looking to buy my first pj, was going for 4805, but issue with screen size, now after reading the info on the news link above yet another thing to take into account, anyway hope the above helps some of you
     
  2. David_of_Surrey

    David_of_Surrey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thanks for that...probabally the most important post this week....even my new Sony receiver now appears out of date...and I thought component video would have a reasonable lifespan......on the verge of getting a projector so will lhave to watch specs carefully so as to future proof
    Dave
     
  3. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I wouldn't call it a bomb-shell to be honest, in the US some cable companies introduced HDTV allowing an analog feed to the TV but have announced next June they'll disable analog and only allow protected digital.
     
  4. grey torq

    grey torq
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    394
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +26
    For a non-techy out of touch does anyone know if the Panny AE700 HDMI connector is compatible with this HDCP thingy?
     
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Yes, HDMI is backwards compatible with DVI+HDCP .. the other way round isn't guaranteed to work though. Actually, unless Sky have stated that it will definitely be DVI(HDCP) I'd have thought itmore likely by then they'd be using HDMI.
     
  6. Oakleyspatz

    Oakleyspatz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,568
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +230
    The 4805 DOES support HDCP encrypted signals via DVI/HDMI
     
  7. Dwayne Dibley

    Dwayne Dibley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    840
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Right Here, Right Now
    Ratings:
    +217
    what screen size issue?? (the 4805 is on my shortlist of potential pj)
     
  8. maverick177uk

    maverick177uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,739
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +453
    ^^^ don't go for 92" unless you have a throw of at least 12 foot.
     
  9. Botang

    Botang
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to bring this one up again but I was just about to put my hand in my pocket to buy a Panny AE700 when I followed a link to the plasma section
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=168496&page=1&pp=15

    It gets quite technical and they completely lost me :rolleyes:

    Should I be concerned about the implications of SKY HDTV???

    Will the AE700 be ok or will it have the same issues as the Panny Plasmas :lease:
     
  10. Mr_Sukebe

    Mr_Sukebe
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +213
    I've been told that the AE500/AE700 will work fine with HDTV broadcasts, nice!
     
  11. The Nightfly

    The Nightfly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    The New Frontier
    Ratings:
    +23
    Having a DVI-HDCP or HDMI connector on the projector is no guarantee that it will be compatible with Sky's proposed high definition service. What you also need to ensure is that the projector will support 720p and 1080i resolutions on the digital inputs at 50Hz.

    Its the lack of 50Hz compatibility on DVI and HDMI with most plasmas that is causing the concern.

    Allan
     
  12. Botang

    Botang
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  13. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
  14. tomos

    tomos
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    nooo, i want the ae700, but want high def when it comes out too :(
     
  15. grey torq

    grey torq
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    394
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +26
    The table in my manual for the AE700 clearly states 50Hz 1080i & 720p support to the HDMI input. I do not however have any means to check that it really does do this.
     

Share This Page

Loading...