1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky+ disk fragmentation

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by NicolasB, Dec 11, 2003.

  1. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,804
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +520
    Does Sky+ have any way of defragmenting its hard drive? If not, has anyone tried removing the disk, placing it in a PC, defragging it, and putting it back in the Sky+ box again? If so, did the recordings survive, and was there any improvement in performance?
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Housekeeping is the best way to clean up a HD but that's rather terminal for stored data:)
    I would suspect that the added RASP layer that SKY+ uses for indexing etc would make a PC defrag a waste of time or at worse totally destroy the data.

    Personally I think Housekeeping a disk every now and again is good for the system (Still using the orig 40gig) but it's probably all in my mind:)
     
  3. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    how do you do housekeeping on the disc?
     
  4. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    On the remote......

    Services
    4
    0
    1
    Select

    Then select option 7 (Full system reset) but be warned, IT WIPES EVERYTHING.
     
  5. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    thanks
     
  6. Azrikam

    Azrikam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure what OS Sky+ is running in the background, but TiVo uses Linux, so hard disk fragmentation isn't an issue like it is in Windows PCs. I would assume that either Sky+ uses an OS that doesn't fragment, or has a built-in defrag utility. (or maybe runs one automatically)
     
  7. Papua

    Papua
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +28
    Have seen a sky+ disk connected to a pc and it is formated to FAT32. The files and folders didn't make any sense, but I reckon it could be defragmented by a windows pc.
     

Share This Page

Loading...