Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Sky+ disk fragmentation

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by NicolasB, Dec 11, 2003.

  1. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,450
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +898
    Does Sky+ have any way of defragmenting its hard drive? If not, has anyone tried removing the disk, placing it in a PC, defragging it, and putting it back in the Sky+ box again? If so, did the recordings survive, and was there any improvement in performance?
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    Housekeeping is the best way to clean up a HD but that's rather terminal for stored data:)
    I would suspect that the added RASP layer that SKY+ uses for indexing etc would make a PC defrag a waste of time or at worse totally destroy the data.

    Personally I think Housekeeping a disk every now and again is good for the system (Still using the orig 40gig) but it's probably all in my mind:)
     
  3. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    how do you do housekeeping on the disc?
     
  4. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975

    On the remote......

    Services
    4
    0
    1
    Select

    Then select option 7 (Full system reset) but be warned, IT WIPES EVERYTHING.
     
  5. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    thanks
     
  6. Azrikam

    Azrikam
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure what OS Sky+ is running in the background, but TiVo uses Linux, so hard disk fragmentation isn't an issue like it is in Windows PCs. I would assume that either Sky+ uses an OS that doesn't fragment, or has a built-in defrag utility. (or maybe runs one automatically)
     
  7. Papua

    Papua
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +28
    Have seen a sky+ disk connected to a pc and it is formated to FAT32. The files and folders didn't make any sense, but I reckon it could be defragmented by a windows pc.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice