1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SKY dish on a pole

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Barry.NI, Jul 14, 2004.

  1. Barry.NI

    Barry.NI
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +11
    Due to planning restrictions, my son wishes to put his sky dish on a 2 metre pole, at the rear of the house, with a wall bracket, fixed just below the soffit, in order to clear his neighbour's roof. Has anyone on the site got such an installation, and what was the diameter of the pole, and the type of brackets used, and were there any problems in windy weather?
     
  2. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    I've got a 65cm dish on a 2m x 40mm diameter pole to clear a roof... I made the mistake of fitting an aluminium pole which does move around in the wind, so go for steel and you'll be fine...
     
  3. Barry.NI

    Barry.NI
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +11
    Many thanks
     
  4. Lex

    Lex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +4
    My parents have theirs mounted on an old telegraph poll in the garden - they used the standard brackets that came with the dish. Works just fine :smashin:

    EDIT Sorry just re-read your post, I mis-read what you were asking :blush:
     
  5. richardys

    richardys
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    The old Sky dishes will only take a 1.25" pole. The new ones will fit 1.25" or 1.5" easy, but require a large U-bolt.

    I would recommend a T&K bracket.
     
  6. ndenbow

    ndenbow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +11
    My pole was supplied by the Sky installers, who later refused to fit the dish and cabling for insurance reasons (listed building, thatched roof etc). The pole is aluminium and is located at the end of my garden. Never had any problems apart from overgrowing trees and plants. I needed a larger dish to compensate for the extra cabling distance. I sprayed the dish green and now you can hardly recognise it, being creative with the sheers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...